Skip to main content

Grassroots Activism and the American Wilderness: Pioneers in the Twentieth Century Adirondack Park Conservation Movement project at Union College: Project Staff

Council on Library and Information Resources grant-funded project at Union College

Project Staff

The grant proposal submitted to CLIR for this project included the hiring of staff whose efforts are entirely focused on completeing the work of this project:

 

Project Archivist/Project Manager

 

 Abi Simkovic began her work as Project Archivist/Project Manager in February 2015.  She will oversee the work of the Graduate Assistant Archives Processors and Student Assistants during the processing, cataloging, and digitization of the John S. Apperson papers and the Paul Schaefer Collection during the final 14 months of the project.  She holds a BA in English from Montana State University and an MSIS from the University at Albany, SUNY.  She has previously worked with collections for the Manuscripts and Special Collections division of the New York State Library, Albany Law School, Union College, and the Rudolf Steiner Library.  

 

 

Ann Mulfort

Ann Mulfort began her work at Union College as the Project Archivist/Project Manager in June 2014 and served in this position until October 2014. During this time, she oversaw the work of the Graduate Assistant Archives Processors and Student Assistants during the processing and cataloging the papers of John S. Apperson and Paul Schaefer. She holds a BA in Information Management from St. Catherine University and an MLIS from Dominican University. She has processed collections at the Carnegie Institution of Washington, the Minnesota Historical Society, the Library of Congress, and the University of Minnesota. She has served as the Encoded Archival Description Consultant for the University of Wyoming, and was also the Librarian/Archivist at the American Swedish Institute.

 

 

Archives Processors

 

Jennifer Moore received her Master of Science in Information Science from the University at Albany, SUNY, in May 2014 after receiving her Bachelors in English from Mount Holyoke College in May of 2012.  Before joining our staff Jennifer worked on the digitization of the Ramee Collection for Union College’s Schaffer Library, the cataloging of the University at Albany’s dissertations and theses, processing archival collections for the miSci Museum, as well as developing summer programming for the Empire State Aerosciences Museum.  Jennifer is also part of the Access Services team in the library at Sage Colleges in Albany. Jennifer joined the team in March 2015. 

 

David Doughan holds a Master of Library and Information Science degree with a concentration in Archival Management from Simmons College. He also holds a Master’s in Public Administration from the University of New Hampshire, and a Bachelor of Arts degree from the University of Maine.  Prior to coming to Union College, David served as a Digital Archivist at Voices of September 11th, a leading nonprofit supporting those impacted by the terrorist attacks of 9/11. As the first archivist at Voices of September 11th, he implemented the first set of policies and procedures to standardize the collecting and cataloging of records acquired during workshops held with clients. In the past, he worked at the Albany Institute of History and Art in Albany. David joined the team in August 2015.

 

Suzie Catharine holds a Bachelor of Arts and a Master of Arts in American History from the University of Utah, along with a graduate certificate in historic preservation. She is currently a student in the Master of Science in Information Science, at the University at Albany, SUNY. Before working for Union College Suzie performed local and environmental research for American West Center in Salt Lake City, Utah. She also processed manuscript collections for the J. Willard Marriott Library at the University of Utah. She is a member of Phi Alpha Theta, a National History Honor Society. Suzanne joined the team in September 2015


Kimberly Kunker received her Master of Science in Information Science from the University at Albany, SUNY in December 2012.  Before working at Union College Kimberly processed collections and created finding aids as a Student Assistant, Student Intern, and DHP Grant Assistant Archivist at the Foundation of New York State Nurses.  In addition, she processed collections and created finding aids for Fort Ticonderoga as a Collections Processing Intern and Archives Assistant.  Kimberly served on the project from September 2014 until July 2015.

 

 

Student Archives Assistants 

 

Emily Pastore is a Junior at Union College and plans to graduate June 2016 with a Bachelor of Arts degree in Classics and a minor in French. She worked with textile conservation and cataloguing while volunteering at the Brookside Museum, and she is currently a Student Worker at our own Special Collections and Archives of Schaffer Library. Beginning in the Summer of 2014, she has processed collections and created finding aids in that capacity. She is also very active in her Green House Minerva Council, is proficient in French, Ancient Greek, and Latin.  She has studied abroad in Italy and is a member of the Eta Sigma Phi, Classical Studies Honor Society.

 

Arthur Schutzberg is a Sophomore at Union College and plans to graduate June 2017 with a Bachelor of Arts degree in Anthropology and a minor in Political Science. Arthur served as a student assistant during the Winter and Spring 2015 terms. When he's not processing archives, Arthur can be found lacing up his sneakers and going for 10 mile runs. Arthur is fluent in French and recently spent a summer working in the south of France and traveling Europe. At Union, Arthur is a member of the Division III Cross Country and Track Programs,  the Sports Director and Radio Host for WRUC, and a member of  both the French and German clubs. Arthur will be traveling on an anthropological term abroad in the fall to Suva, Fiji. 

 

Summer Research Fellows

 

Ben Mountain is a Junior at Union College expecting to graduate with a Bachelor of Arts in both Sociology and Psychology. In the past Ben has worked for multiple non-profit. Ben is a member of the varsity Track and Field programs at Union College, and a contributing writer to Concordiensis.  Ben hopes to either become a clinical psychologist or to do non-profit work abroad.

 

Brittany Kenny is expected to graduate Union College in 2016 with a Bachelor of Arts in Political Science with the aspiration to attend Law School.  Brittany is a native of Toronto, Ontario.  Brittany has been named Captain of the 2015-2016 Union College Swim Team, serves her sorority’s executive board as Membership Vice President, and helped found the Union College chapter of Democracy Matters.

 

Co-Principal Investigators

Annette LeClair

Director of Collection and Technical Services, Schaffer Library, Union College

 


India Spartz

Head of Special Collections and Archives, Schaffer Library, Union College

Additional Support from Schaffer Library

Frances Maloy

College Librarian

 

Gail Golderman

Digital Scholarship & Services Librarian 

 

John Myers

Catalog & Metadata Librarian

 

Jennifer Goodwin

Digital Services Specialist

 

Rebecca Fried

Metadata & Digital Services Specialist

 

Frank Rapant

Photographer & Reproduction Specialist

Personnel Considerations for a Successful Processing Project

When hiring a team for a project from outside your institution there are many factors that must be both considered before your new staff arrives and incorporated into your staff’s orientation.

 

Procure both workspace and tools.

Tools and ample processing space need to be procured before processing begins. Tools include computers; printers; phones; email access to the environment; as well as basic processing implements such as bone folders; microspatulas; acid-free paper, folders, and boxes; photographic enclosures; and any other needed items that surfaced during the survey of the collection.

 

Consult with HR.

If responsible for hiring staff, the HR requirements need to be understood in terms of creating a position description, length of time for posting approvals, interviewing specifics of the HR department, chain of command in terms of needed procedural approvals, and other requirements unique to the environment.  

 

Create training and orientation materials.

In addition to the recruiting efforts of hiring new staff, creating manuals for new policies and procedures are generally required. Make sure to offer a general orientation of the environment and culture: buildings and their functions, reporting structures, parking permits, identification requirements, software unique to the environment that may need to be learned, payroll reporting, etc.