Skip to main content

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
Part of Digital National Security Archive: Containing over 2,000 documents that total more than 14,000 pages, Afghanistan offers a comprehensive record of the bloodiest and costliest superpower proxy war of the 1980s. The collection also encompasses events leading up to the 1979 Soviet invasion and includes the Soviet withdrawal during 1988-1989. It includes an extensive chronology and set of glossaries.
New
...news footage covering the years leading up to and during the Second World War. During this time, newsreels had an unparalleled political and social impact.
New
...periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
New
...periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
New
... brings the fieldwork underpinning the great ethnographies of the early 20th century into the digital world. This fully indexed, primary source database unfolds the historical development of anthropology from a global perspective.
New
...brings together a wide range of written ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs, and contemporary studies, covering human behavior the world over.
New
Part of Digital National Security Archive: This collection brings to the fore a unique selection of primary source documents illustrating U.S.-Argentina relations during the late 1970s, when the Argentine armed forces took control of the country. During this period, the U.S. developed a foreign policy premised on promoting respect for human rights, and the Argentine military government implemented a counterinsurgency policy that emphasized suppressing dissent at all costs, thus propelling the two countries onto a collision course over human rights.
New
A full-text archive of magazines comprising key research material in the fields of art and architecture, dating from the late-nineteenth century to the twenty-first.
New
...contains 252 plays by 42 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more.
New
...contains the full text of more than 1,700 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries.
New
...a collection that explores and provides historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas, including: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; Afghanistan; Israel; Turkey; The Congo; Argentina; China; Thailand; and others.
New
...searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images.
New
...an online database that gathers 500 of the best-known textbooks and reference materials in business education in convenient digital format.
New
...integrated bibliographic coverage of over 1.7 million books and official publications, 70,000 archival collections and 22.7 million articles published in over 2,500 journals, magazines and newspapers from the 19th century.
New
Part of Digital National Security Archive: This collection brings together more than 2,000 documents concerning the relationship between the United States and China, with an emphasis on the 1969-1998 time period. The documents include memos, cables, and studies concerning U.S. diplomatic relations with China, records concerning the U.S.-PRC security relationship, documents related to the economic and scientific association with the PRC, and intelligence estimates and studies concerning the PRC's foreign policy objectives, military capabilities, and internal situation.
New
Part of Digital National Security Archive: This authoritative collection on CIA covert operations, the most comprehensive of its kind, covers the Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon administrations. Holdings include CIA internal histories, plans, decision memos, policy reviews, confidential records of CIA directors, intelligence reports, cables and papers on everything from assassination attempts on Fidel Castro and Rafael Trujillo to dealings with secret agents and covert support for the Kurds and others. The 2,407 documents, many published here first, cover a wide assortment of secret wars.
New
Part of Digital National Security Archive: This collection provides a detailed account of the operational and diplomatic history of U.S. covert operations, encompassing the time period beginning with the inauguration of President Jimmy Carter in 1977, and concluding with the George W. Bush administration, although a few Obama-era documents are also included. Containing 2,337 declassified documents from a wide range of sources, the set provides a wide-ranging look into the intricacies of CIA covert action.
New
Part of Digital National Security Archive: The National Security Archive's Colombia collection traces 60 years of U.S. policy toward its most important Andean ally throughout a period of sustained conflict, political corruption and civil unrest. The approximately 2,000 documents from the State Department, Pentagon, Central Intelligence Agency, and other agencies focus on U.S. efforts during the Cold War, the drug war, the rise of paramilitary violence in the 1990's, and the Plan Colombia and beyond.
New
...access to over 7,000 hand-written documents and more than 40,000 bibliographic records with this incredible resource on Colonial History.
New
...examines the richness and diversity of contemporary theatre and drama from a global context. Contemporary World Drama brings together new work from our existing playwright partners alongside work from up-and-coming playwrights from around the world
New
... a searchable collection containing real transcripts of counseling and therapy sessions and first-person narratives illuminating the experience of mental illness and treatment, as well as reference works to contextualize the primary material.
New
... a searchable collection containing real transcripts of counseling and therapy sessions and first-person narratives illuminating the experience of mental illness and treatment, as well as reference works to contextualize the primary material.
New
Part of Digital National Security Archive: This collection of 1,704 primary-source documents on more than 50 years of dialogue between the U.S. and Cuba reveals the hidden history of back-channel diplomacy aimed at seeking common ground amid the perpetual antagonism of relations between Washington and Havana. It documents the little-known efforts of Fidel Castro and 11 U.S. presidents to use behind-the-scenes communications to resolve crises, collaborate on mutual interests, and even, at times, to seek a rapprochement, which finally came to fruition during the Obama administration.
New
The only collection of curated primary and secondary full-text materials to support informed performance, pedagogy, and scholarship in dance.
New
Part of Digital National Security Archive: This collection contains 2,071 declassified documents describing U.S. relations with Guatemala during the decades of violent conflict sparked by the CIA-controlled coup in 1954. The documents include CIA operational records produced during the coup, National Security Council deliberations on consolidating a post-coup regime friendly to the United States, and extensive intelligence and embassy reporting on Guatemala's U.S.-trained security apparatus.
New
Combining comprehensiveness with a carefully crafted set of text-analysis tools, The Digital Karl Barth Library will support a new generation of research into the works of one of the twentieth century's most influential theologians.
New
...exhaustive resource for historians, theologians, political scientists, and sociologists studying the religious and social upheavals of the 16th and 17th centuries.
New
At completion, Disability in the Modern World will include 150,000 pages of primary sources, supporting materials, and archives, along with 125 hours of video.
New
...a fully searchable collection of primary source documents from Britain's Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO), shedding light on diplomatic history throughout the 20th C.
New
...contains 1,482 authors and over 100,000 pages of letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters.
New
... traces the history of printing in Europe from its origins through to the close of the seventeenth century, offering full-colour, high-resolution facsimile images of rare and hard-to-access printed sources.
New
An archive of magazines in the field of education, ranging from the early 20th to 21st centuries. The publications are aimed at teachers and other educational professionals.
New
Part of Digital National Security Archive: El Salvador contains more than 27,000 pages of documents covering one of the most hotly debated subjects of the last decade: the U.S. role in the civil war in El Salvador, including intelligence-gathering, policy-making, and extensive reporting on human rights abuses.
New
Part of Digital National Security Archive: A collection of leaked and declassified records documenting U.S. and allied electronic surveillance policies, relationships, and activities. It serves as an addition to several National Security Archive documents sets - including those on U.S. Intelligence and the National Security Agency. The records provide information on the limitations imposed on electronic surveillance activities, organizations, legal authorities, collection activities, and liaison relationships.
New
a single, comprehensive source for a wide range of video and text material focusing on engineering failures and successes. At completion, the collection will contain 250 hours and 50,000 pages of quality documentaries, accident reports, experiments, visualizations, case studies, lectures and interviews from leading engineering institutions around the world.
New
An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles.
New
... brings together over 2,000 hours of previously unpublished historic field recordings from around the world, alongside their supporting field notes and ethnographers metadata, opening new paths for the study of music in its cultural context.
New
...provides researchers rich archival content, visual ephemera, monographs, and videos that explore how food shapes the world around us. Food studies is a relatively new field of study, but its importance is felt in many major disciplines. It has social, historical, economic, cultural, religious, and political implications that reach far beyond what is consumed at the dinner table.
New
In the late 1800's, Dutch physician Aletta Jacobs and her husband C.V. Gerritsen began collecting books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights. The Gerritsen Collection has since become the greatest single source for the study of women's history in the world.
New
...unlocks the wealth of key archival materials with a single search. Researchers can access digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and many more primary source materials taken from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collections. This is the main page, with links to individual modules.
New
...an archive of filmed oral history interviews of contemporary African Americans who have shaped modern history and made significant contributions to history, politics, education, law, arts, science, business, the military, and sports.
New
includes command papers, debates and member profiles.
New
includes command papers, debates and member profiles.
New
...a research and learning database providing comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010. The collection includes primary and secondary materials across multiple media formats and content types for each selected event, including Armenia, the Holocaust, Cambodia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Rwanda, Darfur, and more.
New
This on-line collection of historical documents allows you to browse and search HarpWeek's collection of 19th century journals.
New
... a unique new resource cultivated from Arcadia Publishing's award-winning series of local history books. At completion, it will include over 1 million historical images and texts, celebrating the places and faces that give America its spirit and life. All of the images and texts have been indexed to provide an unprecedented level of access into the contents, enabling users to explore the depth of a town's history or to compare the histories of various towns, cultures, ethnic groups, architectural features, and more.
New
Learn about Indian claims, view docket histories, and search for state, territory, nation, and tribe histories.
New
...maps 4,000 learning items to the modern international business syllabus. We include textbooks, book chapters, cases from well-known case providers like the Kellogg School of Management, corporate training videos, sample business documents and research reports. Aperian Global and Atma Global, providers of corporate training for international business professionals, are our primary partners.
New
Part of Digital National Security Archive: The documents in this collection include every exhibit released by the official investigations of the Iran-Contra Affair, including the Senate Intelligence Committee, the Tower Commission, the joint select Congressional committees, and the Independent Counsel. Iran-Contra focuses on the period from Fall 1983, when Congress first put limits on official U.S. assistance to the Contras, to the criminal indictments of Oliver North, Richard Secord, and Albert Hakim in Spring 1988.
New
Part of Digital National Security Archive: More than 14,000 pages of documents are offered on the fall of Shah and the rise of the Ayatollah Khomeini. Included are the Department of State's "White Paper" on Iran and all of the background documentation released under the FOIA to enable users of this collection to evaluate the Carter administration's interpretation of nearly 35 years of U.S.-Iranian relations.
New
Part of Digital National Security Archive: The collection brings together a wealth of materials which trace U.S. policy toward Iraq prior to the Persian Gulf War, as well as U.S. government reactions to revelations about the Banca Nazionale del Lavoro (BNL) scandal and the secret arming of Saddam Hussein's regime. The set also focuses on the economic issues at play in the U.S. relationship with Iraq. Documents are derived from virtually every federal agency involved in U.S.-Iraq policy and the BNL affair.
New
Part of Digital National Security Archive: This collection pulls together primary source documents detailing the relationship between the United States and Japan during the formative years of their modern alliance. The documents include records of historic U.S.-Japanese summit meetings; communications between heads of state; top-level internal deliberations; memos, cables and studies concerning U.S. diplomatic relations with Japan; records concerning the U.S.-Japan security relationship ; documents related to trade and international monetary relations with Japan; etc.
New
Part of Digital National Security Archive: This collection makes available documents dealing with high-level policy making within the U.S. government and the history of U.S.-Japan relations during the last four decades of the twentieth century. These newly obtained documents supplement those found in the first two collections on Japan, and extend the scope of the collections to include the Clinton administration. As with the earlier sets, it covers a wide spectrum of issues and events in the bilateral relationship.
New
...access to thousands of items selected from the John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera, offering unique insights into the changing nature of everyday life in Britain in the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Categories include Nineteenth-Century Entertainment, the Booktrade, Popular Prints, Crimes, Murders and Executions, and Advertising.
New
...an online resource hosting books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day. The collection illuminates the lives of lesbians, gays, transgender, and bisexual individuals and the community with content including selections from The National Archives in Kew, materials collected by activist and publisher Tracy Baim from the mid-1980s through the mid-2000s, the Magnus Hirschfeld and Harry Benjamin collections from the Kinsey Institute, periodicals such as En la Vida and BLACKlines, select rare works from notable LGBT publishers including Alyson Books and Cleis Press, as well as mainstream trade and university publishers.
New
Part of Digital National Security Archive: This collection focuses on one aspect of the U.S.-Mexican relationship - the complex and multifaceted counternarcotics policy. This set traces U.S.-Mexico drug-control cooperation from Nixon through Obama's first term, covering relations between the hemispheres largest consumer of illegal drugs and the principal producer and transit point for those substances.
New
...a collection of full-text periodicals depicting American musical life from 1838 to the early 1900s through local and international news, reviews, editorials, sheet music, and advertisements.
New
Part of Digital National Security Archive: This is a uniquely detailed collection of records documenting the history, mission, and intelligence collection and analytic operations of America's largest and most secretive intelligence agency, the National Security Agency (NSA) and its predecessor organizations. Many of its documents were classified at the Top Secret Codeword level, and were compiled through both research in archival sources and through FOIA requests submitted to more than a dozen government departments and intelligence agencies over the past 25 years.
New
An archival collection comprising the backfiles of 15 major magazines (including the Newsweek archive), spanning areas including current events, international relations, and public policy.
New
Part of Digital National Security Archive: This collection provides an unparalleled contemporary record of the diplomatic, political, paramilitary and economic developments which turned the small Central American nation of Nicaragua into the most controversial U.S. foreign policy issue of the 1980s. The documentation covers U.S. policy toward the Nicaraguan revolution, starting with the January 1978 assassination of newspaper publisher Pedro Joaqun Chamorro and ending with the Sandinista government's electoral defeat by the U.S.-backed UNO coalition of Violeta Chamorro in 1990.
New
...244 plays by 48 playwrights representing the stories and creative energies of American Indian and First Nation playwrights of the twentieth century. More than half of the works are previously unpublished, and hard to find, representing groups such as Cherokee, Mtis, Creek, Choctaw, Pembina, and others.
New
...biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories. The database represents the largest compilation ever created of biographical information on indigenous peoples from all areas of North America.
New
...1,517 plays by 330 playwrights and brings these writings the attention they deserve, by publishing the full text of plays written from Colonial times to the present by more than 100 women from the United States and Canada. Many of the works are rare, hard to find, or out of print.
New
...an electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865. The Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216.
New
...the first comprehensive, international collection that covers all aspects of theater production design, from the 17th century through to the present day, including scenic and set design, lighting design, sound design, costume design, and makeup. Bringing together essential books and periodicals, archival material, and specially commissioned instructional videos, the collection will cover design concepts for a broad range of performance types, including dance, theatre, opera, and music.
New
...a database of millions of citations for articles published in the arts, humanities and social sciences, across more than 300 years.
New
Part of Digital National Security Archive: This is a uniquely detailed collection of records documenting U.S. foreign policy at work in Latin America, as well as internal domestic politics in Peru. Incorporating the latest U.S. government releases, these documents, virtually all of which were previously classified, provide a compelling primary-source portrait of civil war, repression, and growing authoritarianism during three successive Peruvian administrations, as witnessed by the U.S. embassy in Lima, U.S. military officials, and U.S. intelligence.
New
...combines content on far-right and fascist movements, alongside significant coverage of radical left groups, allowing researchers to access material from both sides, and providing points for comparison. Library has access to Part One: Far-Right and Left Political Groups in the U.S., Europe, and Australia.
New
Part of Digital National Security Archive: Presidential Directives on National Security From Truman to Clinton provides a unique collection of documents pertaining to all aspects of U.S. national security policy foreign, defense, intelligence, and international economic policy and structure. The collection consists of over 2,100 documents totaling 30,855 pages, and covers all administrations from Truman to Clinton.
New
Part of Digital National Security Archive: This collection consists of the highest-level documents issued by modern U.S. presidents pertaining to all elements of U.S. national security policyforeign policy, defense policy, intelligence, international economic policy, as well as organizational structure and initiatives. The publication of Part II has been made possible by the declassification of a substantial number of previously unavailable records since the publication of Part I.
New
... covers a vast range of topics including the formative economic factors and other forces that led to the abolitionist movement, the 600,000 battle casualties and the emancipation of nearly 4 million slaves.
New
...a multimedia collection that synthesizes the most important psychological experiments of the 20th and 21st centuries, fostering deeper levels of understanding for students and scholars alike. These experiments have far-reaching impacts on fields as diverse as sociology, business, advertising, economics, political science, law, ethics, and the arts.
New
...more than three hundred important dramatic works in streaming audio from the curated archive of the nations premiere radio theatre company. The plays - which include some of the most significant dramatic literature of the nineteenth, twentieth, and twenty-first centuries - are performed by leading actors from around the world and recorded specifically for online listening.
New
A searchable archive of magazines devoted to religious topics, spanning 19th-21st centuries. The publications were originally written by/for a wider populace rather than academic/cultural elites and offer insights into, for example, the influence of belief systems on public life, the history of popular religious movements and the means used by religions to gain adherents and communicate their ideologies. A wide variety of religions and denominations are represented, allowing for comparative studies of religions during this period.
New
...pairs recently published social work textbooks along with compelling documentaries clinical demonstration videos, and engaging lectures that illustrate the complex and challenging realities social work students will face as practitioners. The content is structured around twelve of the most important topics in the social work curriculum, most of which are applicable worldwide.
New
Part of Digital National Security Archive: The South African document collection provides a contemporary record of changing U.S. responses to historical events in South Africa from 1962 to 1989. Coveted for its resources, supported as an ally, empowered by its nuclear capability and hated for its policy of apartheid, South Africa remains a country of extremes. Reactive in nature, U.S. policies toward South Africa reflect a desire to reconcile conflicting interests in South Africa and the region.
New
Part of Digital National Security Archive: This collection of 2,141 primary-source documents on the 2003 invasion of Iraq, a defining moment in modern history, provides background on U.S. policy debates over Iraq during the Clinton administration; and details Bush administration decisions leading to war, including the use of false intelligence to justify action. It documents the campaign to win support for the invasion and the first 18 months of occupation. Through declassified U.S. records and a major selection from the United Kingdom, it outlines the path to war, and its consequences.
New
Part of Digital National Security Archive: The principal focus of this collection is on international terrorism, beginning with the July 1968 hijacking of an El Al jet to Algiers, other incidents, and the 9/11 attack and aftermath. Beyond the immediacy of these descriptive documents, the materials in this collection also give a uniquely detailed portrait of the enormous counter-terrorism planning and decision-making apparatus that has grown over the years within the U.S. government.
New
...a year-by-year record of British and world events, published annually since 1758. This classic reference work provides historians and students with information on the major and minor events of the past 250+ years, with historical context and perspective and a mass of biographical information.
New
Part of Digital National Security Archive: This collection provides a record of U.S. policy during the most prolonged U.S.-Soviet crisis of the Cold War era. This collection, the most comprehensive available on the subject, consists of over 2,900 documents totaling approximately 11,000 pages. Most of the documentation covers the crisis years but also includes events leading up to the crisis as well as developments in its wake.
New
... a major collection of early-modern historical documents from the reigns of Elizabethan I and James I/VI. More than 150,000 pages have been digitised in full colour to create a definitive online archive of almost 30,000 manuscript documents written by some of the most significant figures of Elizabethan and Jacobean history. These are accompanied by the complete Calendar of the Cecil Papers, featuring summaries and/or transcripts of many documents and two eighteenth-century volumes of selected transcriptions.
New
Part of Digital National Security Archive: Perhaps the most critical and dangerous confrontation of the Cold War, the Cuban Missile Crisis is chronicled in this collection of more than 15,000 pages of rarely seen documentation from the highest levels of government. Topics include the aftermath of the Bay of Pigs, the U.S. secret war against Castro, the first intelligence reports pointing to the development of Soviet missiles in Cuba, and the highly classified correspondence between Kennedy and Khrushchev.
New
Part of Digital National Security Archive: The terrorist attacks of September 11, 2001 on New York and Washington led to profound changes in U.S. foreign and defense policy, internal security practices, and organization for national security - including dramatic changes in the organization and operations of the U.S. Intelligence Community. This collection reflects the National Security Archive's interest in documenting the organizational and operational changes in the U.S. Intelligence Community since the attacks.
New
Part of Digital National Security Archive: As national security adviser (1969-1975) and secretary of state (1973-1977), Henry A. Kissinger played a central, and sometimes dominating, role in shaping U.S. foreign and military policy during the presidential administrations of Richard Nixon and Gerald Ford. This first collection of Henry Kissinger's memcons constitutes a critically important record of the history of international relations from 1969 to 1977. The detailed documents are actual verbatim records of the meetings.
New
Part of Digital National Security Archive: Presenting a case study of U.S. policy towards a third world ally, this collection documents the often conflicting interests which arose between the U.S. and President Marcos. Events covered include the assassination of opposition leader Benigno Aquino, Jr.; the rise of Communist and Muslims insurgencies during the 1970s and 1980s; the emergence of a small, but vocal, opposition movement in the United States; and Marcos' fall in 1986.
New
Part of Digital National Security Archive: Once called "the most highly sensitized classified document in the government, the Presidents Daily Brief (PDB) is a Top Secret CIA digest of essential intelligence presented every morning to the president and his top advisers. These 2,483 highly succinct records released in 2015 provide a day-by-day glimpse into the historic global challenges facing the Kennedy and Johnson administrations and shed light on U.S. foreign policy and the national security system, especially presidential decision-making and CIA intelligence production.
New
...contains fifty hours of primary footage and secondary documentaries that explore the key events of the sixties and early seventies, including the civil rights movement, the women's rights movement and the sexual revolution. It features interviews with major players of the decade, including political leaders John F. Kennedy, Robert Kennedy, and Richard Nixon, and revolutionaries such as Martin Luther King, Malcolm X, Cesar Chavez, and Elaine Brown.
New
...brings the 1960s alive through diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary.
New
Part of Digital National Security Archive: These documents represent the product of U.S. intelligence analysis of Soviet foreign policy, military capabilities, the economy, Soviet science and technology, and the internal situation - including both leadership politics and the situation within the country as a whole. In addition, the set includes a number of additional documents produced by the CIA and other U.S. intelligence agencies that address similar topics.
New
Part of Digital National Security Archive: The United States and the Two Koreas: 1969-2000 is a collection of recently declassified records documenting the history of U.S. policy toward and relations with South and North Korea from the Nixon to the Clinton administrations. The records cover a wide range of issues, including foreign policy, defense policy, economic and trade relations, and intelligence assessments.
New
Part of Digital National Security Archive: This is a collection of recently declassified records, combined with selected documents from the WikiLeaks database, documenting the history of U.S. policy toward and relations with South and North Korea from the Nixon to the first Obama administrations. It serves as an addition to and an extension of the first National Security Archive document set on U.S.-Korea relations. The records cover a wide range of issues, including foreign policy, defense policy, economic and trade relations, and intelligence assessments.
New
...one of the most influential and renowned international editions of Vogue from its launch in 1964 to the present. Recognized as the least commercial and most artistic edition, it has a tradition of innovation and bold treatment of current issues and events.
New
A comprehensive archive of Womens Wear Daily, from the first issue in 1910 to material from within the last twelve months, reproduced in high-resolution images. Every page, article, advertisement and cover has been included, with searchable text and indexing.
New
...provides a window into American social history by bringing together the instructional, prescriptive, behavioral, and etiquette literature that defined standards of personal conduct for millions of Americans and reflected the prevailing social mores across the twentieth century.
New
Part of Digital National Security Archive: This collection documents the U.S. Intelligence Communitys production of intelligence concerning the most important weapons systems that other nations produced or tried to produce during World War II, the Cold War, and the post-Cold War era. Whether those nations were friendly, neutral or hostile, U.S. decision-makers were intensely interested in intelligence concerning their WMD and space systems.
New
Part of Digital National Security Archive: This is the most important compilation of documents available on the final phase of the Vietnam War. Incorporating newly released documents, virtually all previously classified, it covers all the major issues from the period, including diplomatic, military, and intelligence aspects of the Vietnam war during the period of the Nixon and Ford administrations.
New
Part of Digital National Security Archive: This collection comprehensively documents major developments in U.S. nuclear weapons policies and programs from the mid-1950s through 1968, the period that set the nuclear stage for the decades of the Cold War that followed. Given the importance of the nuclear competition to superpower tensions during the post-World War II era, not only as a source of friction in itself but as an element that made the tensions inconceivably dangerous, the documents in this collection introduce the reader to one of the critical inner mechanisms of the Cold War.
New
Part of Digital National Security Archive: This collection provides a documentary record of the nuclear activities and policy process of the U.S. government from the bombings of Hiroshima and Nagasaki through the IAEA inspections of the Iraqi nuclear program. It should be noted that the document set focuses almost exclusively on the states that are known to possess nuclear arms, including the "de facto" nuclear weapons states--Israel, India, Pakistan and South Africa.
New
***Important***
You need to register first as a student or employee of Union College. You will be asked to create your own account. Afterwards, you can access the WSJ anywhere.
New
Through the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made, this collection lets you see how womens social movements shaped much of the events and attitudes that have defined modern life.
New
...explores prominent themes in world history since 1820: conquest, colonization, settlement, resistance, and post-coloniality, as told through womens voices. With a clear focus on bringing the voices of the colonized to the forefront, this highly-curated archive and database includes documents related to the Habsburg Empire, the Ottoman Empire, the British, French, Italian, Dutch, Russian, Japanese, and United States Empires, and settler societies in the United States, New Zealand and Australia.
Loading...
title
Loading...