Skip to main content

Statistical Data: by topic

A compilation of sources of statistical information

by topic

Agriculture

  • National Agriculture Statistics Service
    Timely, accurate, and useful statistics in service to U.S. agriculture. Find and download agricultural statistics for every state and county in the United States.
  • USDA Economic Research Service
    The ERS mission is to inform and enhance public and private decision making on economic and policy issues related to agriculture, food, the environment, and rural development. With over 300 employees, The Economic Research Service is a primary source of economic information and research in the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

Crime and Justice

  • Bureau of Justice Statistics
    Data on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. These data are critical to federal, state, and local policymakers in combating crime and ensuring that justice is both efficient and evenhanded.
  • Federal Criminal Case Processing Statistics
    Analyze federal case processing data. Users can generate various statistics in the areas of federal law enforcement, prosecution/courts and incarcerations, and based on title and section of the U.S. Criminal Code. Data are available for the years 1998-2010.
  • National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (ICPSR)
    The Source for Crime and Justice Data

Economics

  • Bureau of Economic Analysis
    US national, regional, international, and industry accounts. Use the tabs across the top to select National, International, Regional, or Industry. To create custom tables, scroll through the page to find the interactive tables logo.
  • Bureau of Labor Statistics
    Employment, Productivity, Price indexes, Wages. Historical data and future projections. Use calculators for a variety of tasks.
  • Economic Indicators
    Also discover the U.S. Census Bureau's economic statistics through the 2013 Economic Indicator Webinar Series. Each of the 13 economic indicators in this webinar series will provide an in-depth description of how the critical economic indicator data is collected and how you can access and use these statistics. Sessions include construction, housing, international trade, retail trade and more.
  • World Bank Data
    The Data Catalog provides download access to over 2,000 indicators from World Bank data sets. It also provides a searchable microdata catalog (non-aggreagted data) for downloading custom data sets.
  • Federal Reserve System
    Statistical data from the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System.
  • Survey of Consumers
    University of Michigan and Thompson-Reuters
  • Survey of Consumer Finances
    The data sets are available here from the Federal Reserve Bank of New York.
    Here is a link to UC Berkeley's online analysis tool: http://sda.berkeley.edu/cgi-bin36/hsda?harcscfcomb+scfcomb

Energy

Health

  • Health and Medical Care Archive (ICPSR)
    HMCA preserves and disseminates data collected by selected research projects funded by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and facilitates secondary analyses of the data. The data collections include surveys of health care professionals and organizations, investigations of access to medical care, surveys on substance abuse, and evaluations of innovative programs for the delivery of health care
  • Medicare Data
    This site provides direct access to the official data from the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) that’s used on the Medicare.gov Compare Websites and Directories. The goal of the site is to make these CMS data readily available in open, accessible, and machine-readable formats.
  • Center for Disease Control: Data & Statistics
    CDC's mission is to protect public health and safety through the control and prevention of disease, injury, and disability. It focuses its attention on infectious disease, food borne pathogens, environmental health, occupational safety and health, health promotion, injury prevention and educational activities designed to improve the health of United States citizens.
  • National Health Interview Survey
    The National Health Interview Survey (NHIS) has monitored the health of the nation since 1957. NHIS data on a broad range of health topics are collected through personal household interviews.