This is the "Why Cite?" page of the "Citation and Writing Style Guides" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Citation and Writing Style Guides  

Last Updated: Oct 24, 2013 URL: http://libguides.union.edu/citationguides Print Guide RSS Updates

Why Cite? Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Quick Tip!

Citations help others locate the sources you used in your paper.

Citing your sources accurately adds credibility to your research.

Citations connect your work to the work of others.

 

Avoiding Plagiarism

Union College Statement on Plagiarism (Office of the Dean of Studies)

To avoid plagiarism, you must give credit whenever you use:

- someone's idea, opinion, statement, or theory not your own;
- any facts, statistics, graphs, images—any pieces of information—that are not common knowledge (including definitions);
- quotes from someone's spoken or written words; or
- paraphrase of  someone's spoken or written words.

Deliberate Plagiarism - 

- Copying or buying someone's paper
- Using a paper from another class
- Using information from a source without citing

You Quote It, You Note It! (Acadia University)

 

General Guide

 

Grammar Tips

Grammar Girl's Quick and Dirty Tips

The Concise Oxford Dictionary of English Etymology - Available via Oxford Reference Online, and based on The Oxford Dictionary of English Etymology, the principal authority on the origin and development of English words, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Etymology contains a wealth of information about the English language and its history. "Find out where the words 'bungalow' and 'assassin' came from, what 'nice' meant in the Middle Ages and much more." ~Restricted to Union College 

The Elements of Style - This is the classic text on clear and plain writing, now somewhat dated but still very practical. 

Grammar Handbook - Sponsored by the Writers' Workshop at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, this site provides a comprehensive manual of standard English grammar and usage. 

The Oxford Dictionary of American Usage and Style - Available via Oxford Reference Online. "Editor Garner draws on a host of evidence to support his judgments, citing thousands of examples - good, bad, and ugly - from sources such as The New York TimesThe Wall Street Journal, and Newsweek. ~Restricted to Union College 

Pocket Fowler's Modern English Usage - Available via Oxford Reference Online. "This Pocket edition is based primarily on Robert W. Burchfield's renowned The New Fowler's Modern English Usage. Clear guidance on grammar, usage, syntax, and style for English is provided." ~Restricted to Union College 

A Web of Online Grammars - This page maintains links with online grammar pages and lessons of as many languages as can be found on the Web. It includes all types of grammars: reference grammars, language lessons, and historical grammars, so long as they represent creditable and substantial language learning tools.

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Gail Golderman
Contact Info
Digital Services Librarian
388-6624
skype: gail.golderman
Send Email
My office is located:
Room 129: Technical Services
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip