This is the "Home" page of the "Library Mobile Access and Apps" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Library Mobile Access and Apps  

Last Updated: Apr 3, 2013 URL: http://libguides.union.edu/mobile-apps Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Mobile Access

VPN access is still required for many resources when off campus.
Use the AnyConnect App, available for iPhone/iPad/Touch devices.

 

Key

android phone= App for Android

smart phones = Works with most smart phones

iphone/ipad = Optimized for iPhone and iPad

 

Apps

anyconnect Download Cisco AnyConnect Client application for the iPhone/iPad/iPod Touch from the App Store (search for "anyconnect") Contact ITS Help Desk for further configuration. 388-6400 iphone/ipad
ARTstor Mobile All 1 million+ images from the ARTstor Digital Library are now accessible through to registered ARTstor users.  Create an account first on the full ARTstor site, then navigate with your mobile device to http://mobile.artstor.org and login with your ARTstor login and password. smart phones
AccessMyLibrary AccessMyLibrary app from Gale. Search specialized  reference encyclopedias and research databases. Enter your Union email address to have an access password emailed to you. android phone iphone/ipad
annual reviews mobile Annual Reviews Mobile optimized for iPhone/iPod touch and Android. Download the app from Apple or Google Play. Access Annual Reviews full site to create a personal account that can be linked to your mobile device. android phone iphone/ipad
EBSCO web EBSCO now offers a mobile interface for most of their research databases with EBSCO Mobile platform. Features include Basic searching, HTML/PDF, E-mailing articles, and more. smart phones
Search the Schaffer Library catalog. Save results, check hours, events, new titles, and view your library account.  android phoneiphone/ipad
JSTOR JSTOR Mobile is best used for searching JSTOR while you're on the go, and then emailing the citations to yourself so you can read the articles later on a full-size computer. FAQ for more info smart phones
Music Online Alexander Street's Music Online, including the Classical Music Library, Jazz Music Library, and Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries. Stream classical, jazz, popular, and world music. Make your selection and then send to mobile device with the mobile icon. Send to Mobile Device smart phones
Also scan a QR code to access the Music Online track immediately. QR readers are readily available as add-on applications, and many mobile phones come with QR readers pre-installed. QR codes can be auto-generated for every recording, album, and playlist in Alexander Street's streaming music collections QR Code
Naxos Music Library Naxos Music Library available from the iTunes App Store or Google Play.  Stream classical mui\sic from a 40,000 CD collection.  Contact Gail Golderman for one-time access registration. android phoneiphone/ipad
Naxos Music Library Jazz Naxos Music Library Jazz available on the iTunes App Store. Stream music from more than 3000 CDs.  Username/Password required. Contact Gail Golderman for one-time access. iphone/ipad
Naxos Spoken Word Library Naxos Spoken Word available on the iTunes App Store. Stream the contents of 500 literary classics. Username/Password required. Contact Gail Golderman for one-time access registration. iphone/ipad
RefWorks RefWorks Mobile allows you to access your RefWorks database on the go. If you are off campus you will need the Union College group code and your personal login info for access. More info smart phones
QuickCite QuickCite allows you to scan a book's barcode and send a formatted citation to your email. Cost for app: $0.99. Download the app from Apple or Google Play. android phoneiphone/ipad
Science Mobile Science Mobile app to read summaries and abstracts from Science, Science Translational Medicine and Science Signaling; e-mail links to full text; news at ScienceNOW; search job openings; access the Science weekly podcasts and other multimedia; store content for reading without wi-fi access. android phoneiphone/ipad
WorldCat Search the world's libraries for research materials with WorldCat Mobile. smart phones

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Schaffer Library

Suggestions for New Apps

Are you using a library-specific app that you want to share? Please submit a link and we will add to the list and share with the Union Community.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip