Skip to main content

Archives & Special Collections: Home

Selecting A Topic

Union College was established in 1795 and essentially grew up with the United States.  It has survived economic expansions and depressions, internal and external political conflicts, and social revolutions.  This means that there is a lot of Union history to choose a research topic from, which could make this process overwhelming.  One good way to browse for topics is in the Encyclopedia of Union History which will give you background information on prominent figures related to Union, clubs on campus, fraternities and sororities, history of buildings, the changing geography of the campus, problems on campus such as automobiles and dogs, and Union publications, among other topics.

A print copy of the Encyclopedia of Union History is available at the reference desk, in special collections, and in the stacks. Here is a link to the online version of the Encyclopedia

You can also find topics of interest by looking at the vertical file listing.

 

Pathway to finding Union Materials

Primary Sources Online

There are some databases that you can use to find a lot of information relating to Union College topics:

  1. Internet Archive Digital Library--The digital archive holds a lot of primary sources related to Union College.  The fastest way to find materials is to look for a specific title or author.  If you want to search for anything related to Union College use the advanced search and, under the creator, type in: Union College (Schenectady, N.Y.). You can also do a basic search for: Union College Schenectady.  Be careful to make sure the Union College you find is the one located in Schenectady.  There is also a Union College in Kentucky that has a lot of items in the archive.
  2. Google Books--Google has digitized a lot of primary sources that are older and out of copyright.  The easiest way to use Google Books is to search for a specific title or author. 

Newspaper Sources

Newspapers report current events that are happening in the area or region that they cover, so looking at newspapers that cover the Schenectady, Albany, or New York area are often helpful in your search for sources for a Union related topic.  

Concordiensis (the Union College newspaper)

The New York Times

Times Union (Albany)

  • Last 2 months are in the Lally Reading Room on the 1st Floor
  • There are more holdings on microfilm in the basement of the library.

Daily Gazette / Schenectady Gazette

The Newspaper Archive

  • Open access to historical newspapers in the United States as well as other countries.  

Acknowledgements

This LibGuide is an updated reproduction of the work that Ellen Fladger and Sarah Henry completed in 2001.