web
analytics
Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Adirondack Research Library: Overview of Collections

This guide serves as a starting point to introduce faculty, staff and students to resources held by the Adirondack Research Library located at the Kelly Adirondack Center of Union College.

General

Materials at the Adirondack Research Library do not circulate are available for in-house use only. Published materials are cataloged and discoverable through the library catalog. Primary sources are discoverable through ArchivesSpace. Digital collections are available through NY Heritage and DigitalWorks. Copies and scans of materials for research use are made free of charge upon request.

Maps

The map collection includes thousands of contemporary, historic and topographical maps of both the Catskills and Adirondack regions.

undefined

Archives

The ARL archival collections document the various approaches that conservationists took to influence environmental public policy and protection. The materials date from the late 19th century and cover issues such as: land-use and development, protection of natural resources, opposition to private interests, and specific environmental campaigns. 

undefined

 

Other

The ARL includes audiovisual collections, vertical files, scrapbooks, three-dimensional objects, ephemera and architectural drawings that feature homes designed and constructed by Paul Schaefer. 

undefined