Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Summer IDEaS Research

Using Primary Sources

Archives are primary source materials from the historical period you will be studying. In this case, the Jonathan Pearson Papers and others at Special Collections and Archives. Collections are open for research by appointment only. Due to their age and rarity, certain rules must be followed while in the reading room. This includes checking your bag in the cubbies out front, leaving food and drinks behind, and only using a pencil. Computers and phones are permitted.

ArchivesSpace is like a catalog search for primary sources held by Special Collections and Archives. You may search by collection title and navigate the contents from there, or, you can do a general keyword search and a list of results will let you know what we have. If you find something relevant to your research needs, let us the know the collection name, the box and folder number if known, and the title. Once we have that information we will pull the materials from the closed stacks for you. Note that this lists the what the content is but in most cases will not link to the content itself.

 

Not everything you need for context will be available in just one collection. For general information, we recommend taking a look at the vertical file and picture file at SCA. These are filed alphabetically by title and will provide a wealth of documents and photographs to assist you with everything you need to know about the people, places, and history of Union College. And if you are stuck or need more help, remember that SCA staff are here to assist you.

 

Any questions? Contact me by email or schedule an appointment here.