Subject Research, Course Guides, Documentation: Psychology: Find Articles and Primary Sources

APA PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), and others. Coverage spans 1894 to present; Indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Contains over 3 million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports. Ninety-nine percent of its content is peer-reviewed. Journal coverage spans from the 1800s to the present. PsycINFO is indexed with controlled vocabulary from APA's Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Comprises citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. Also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database of thousands of magazines and journals, including full text for nearly 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Includes ISI Science Citation Index 1997-present; Social Sciences Citation Index, 1997-present; and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1997-present. Search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. Search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.

While Web of Science is a citation database, when full-text content is available via a secondary resources supported by Schaffer Library, links to the full-text will appear.
PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window
Contains the DSM-5, along with various psychiatric focused journals and books, including the American Journal of Psychotherapy the American Journal of Psychiatry.
Access Neurology This link opens in a new window
Updated regularly, this comprehensive online neurology resource covers the entire spectrum of neurology from the basics to specialty-specific content – optimized for viewing on any device. Includes texts, multimedia, and more.
Nursing and Allied Health This link opens in a new window
This database offers reliable, comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more.
Science This link opens in a new window
Emphasis is on material pertaining to the interactions among science, technology, government, and society. Topical coverage includes the physical, biological, and social sciences.
PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window
Contains the DSM-5, along with various psychiatric focused journals and books, including the American Journal of Psychotherapy the American Journal of Psychiatry.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

Primary Source Resources

Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts: Volume 1 This link opens in a new window
A searchable collection containing real transcripts of counseling and therapy sessions and first-person narratives illuminating the experience of mental illness and treatment, as well as reference works to contextualize the primary material.
Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts: Volume II This link opens in a new window
A searchable collection containing real transcripts of counseling and therapy sessions and first-person narratives illuminating the experience of mental illness and treatment, as well as reference works to contextualize the primary material.
Psychological Experiments Online This link opens in a new window
A multimedia collection that synthesizes the most important psychological experiments of the 20th and 21st centuries, fostering deeper levels of understanding for students and scholars alike. These experiments have far-reaching impacts on fields as diverse as sociology, business, advertising, economics, political science, law, ethics, and the arts.

Journals

The Schaffer Library provides access to over 400 psychology journals. Click on this link for a full list.

Psychology Journals List

Schaffer Library LibGuides

Psychology

Contact A Librarian

Chat with a Librarian

Meet with a Librarian

Primary Source Resources

Journals