Subject Research, Course Guides, Documentation: HST 120 Emergence of Modern America: Special Collections & Archives

About Special Collections & Archives

Special Collections & Archives includes the Union College Archives, special book collections, manuscripts, maps, photographs, sound recordings, ephemera, artifacts, and other primary source materials which document the College’s history. All accessible to students!

How it works:

Explore our primary source collections using the links below.
Contact us here for help getting started or to schedule your visit.
Locate and use primary sources to make interpretations about the past!

Explore SCA Archival Collections on ArchivesSpace

Explore SCA Rare Books and Published Materials in the Library Catalog

Digital Collections

ARCHES is the home of Digital Collections at Schaffer Library. Browse or search available primary sources online!

Below, find a selection of digital collections specifically related to this course's focus, dating from 1877-1920.

John Bigelow papers
The John Bigelow Papers consist of the extensive correspondence of Bigelow and his family, his scrapbooks and his writings, records and correspondence detailing his professional activities, diaries and journals belonging to Bigelow and other family members, genealogical documents and records of the Bigelow family, and a variety of photographs.
Union College Alumni Files
Newspaper clippings, ephemera, correspondence, publications, and other materials on Union College alumni compiled by the Alumni Office. Also includes files on nineteenth century faculty.
Dalton-Loines Family photographs
Family photographs, papers, ephemera and deeds of the Dalton and Loines families. The bulk of materials focus on camps and lakehouses in the Northwest Bay of Lake George, NY. The Loines Family were ardent conservationists in Lake George, New York.
Sheldon Jackson collection
Sheldon Jackson was a Presbyterian minister and missionary as well as a political leader, and he was involved in establishing government agencies and Presbyterian community throughout the territory that became Alaska and the Western portions of the United States. The Sheldon Jackson Collection provides evidence of his work in Alaska and Colorado, including the establishment of the First Presbyterian Church of Sitka and the Museum of Alaskan Natural History and Ethnology. In addition, substantial family correspondence illustrates his personal life.

Research at Schaffer Library

HST 120 Emergence of Modern America

About Special Collections & Archives

Digital Collections