Skip to Main Content
Schaffer Library LibGuides
Schaffer Library
Subject Research, Course Guides, Documentation
LGBTQ+ Research at Union College
National Sources on Queer History and Research
Search this Guide
Search
LGBTQ+ Research at Union College
An eclectic collection of sources related to LGBTQ+ History at Union, drawn primarily from Special Collections and Archives, as well as physical and digital sources on local and national queer history.
Home
Special Collections & Archives Sources
Concordiensis
Sources
LGBTQ+ Research by Students and Faculty
Local Sources on Queer History
National Sources on Queer History and Research
Available Online
Articles
“A Queer/Ed Archival Methodology: Archival Bodies as Nomadic Subjects,” Jaime Ann Lee, 2017
“Queering the Archive: Transforming the Archival Process,” Lizbeth Zepada, 2018
“The Suppression of Lesbian and Gay History,” Rictor Norton, 2005
“When Men Were Men (And Women, Too),” Ken Gerswert, 2003
Websites
ACT Up Oral History Project
The Archives of Sexuality and Gender
Digital Transgender Archive
Lesbian HerStory Archives
The ONE National Gay and Lesbian Archives
OutHistory
Available through Schaffer Library (requires Union Login)
Articles
“Curating Queer Heritage: Queer Knowledge and Museum Practice,” Patrik Steorn, 2012
“Special Issue: Queering Public History: The State of the Field,” The Public Historian, 2019
Books
Ephemeral Material: Queering the Archive, Alana Kumbier, 2014
In a Queer Time and Place: Transgender Bodies, Subcultural Lives, Jack Halberstam, 2005
Odd Girls and Twilight Lovers: A History of Lesbian Life in Twentieth-Century America, Lillian Faderman, 1991
Out of the Closet, Into the Archives: Researching Sexual Histories, Amy Stone and Jaime Cantrell, 2015
A Queer History of the United States, Michael Bronski, 2011
<<
Previous:
Local Sources on Queer History
