Classics

Brill´s New Pauly is the English edition of the authoritative Der Neue Pauly, published by Verlag J.B. Metzler since 1996. The encyclopaedic coverage and high academic standard of the work, the interdisciplinary and contemporary approach and clear and accessible presentation have made the New Pauly the unrivaled modern reference work for the ancient world.

Praised by playwright Arthur Miller as "a delight for anyone with any curiosity about the roots of our Western culture" and by Booklist as "the single most heavily used book on classical studies," The Oxford Classical Dictionary is without doubt the definitive one-volume resource on ancient Greece and Rome.

Step back in time to discover the wonders of the ancient world with this multivolume encyclopedia

The Brill Dictionary of Ancient Greek is the English translation of Franco Montanari's Vocabolario della Lingua Greca. With an established reputation as the most important modern dictionary for Ancient Greek, it brings together 140,000 headwords taken from the literature, papyri, inscriptions and other sources of the archaic period up to the 6th Century CE, and occasionally beyond.The Brill Dictionary of Ancient Greek is an invaluable companion for the study of Classics and Ancient Greek, for beginning students and advanced scholars alike.

The world's most authorative dictionary of ancient Greek. The Main Dictionary: Liddell and Scott's Greek-English Lexicon (9th edition 1940), is the central reference work for all scholars of ancient Greek, author and text discovered up to 1940, from the 11th centruey BC to the Byzantine Period.The early Greek of authors such as Homer and Hesiod, Classical Greek, and the Greek Old and New Testaments are included. Each entry lists not only the definition of a word, but also its irregular inflections, and quotations from a full range of authors and sources to demonstrate usage.

The Cambridge Greek Lexicon is based upon principles differing from those of existing Greek lexica. Entries are organised according to meaning, with a view to showing the developing senses of words and the relationships between those senses. Other contextual and explanatory information, all expressed in contemporary English, is included, such as the typical circumstances in which a word may be used, thus giving fresh insights into aspects of Greek language and culture.

141 years after its first publication, the new edition of this world-famous bestseller gives a comprehensive picture of the Latin language. The original 1879 edition, revolutionary at the time for its breadth, depth and its use of illustrative examples, combined a succinct yet approachable style with coverage of everyday as well as specialist terms. This 21st-century edition continues this ground-breaking tradition, giving you an authoritative coverage of Latin as it was used throughout the classical and mediaeval periods.