Religious Studies

Primarily full-text, international periodicals for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies of major religions, as well as the most recent trends and scholarly thought.

Combines the index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. Union recently upgraded to PLUS, adding even more full-text content to this database.

A digital library of back issues of academic journals, books, and primary sources. Core titles from each discipline included. Moving wall, typically does not include the most current 3-5 years.

Browse or search JSTOR collections by subject.>

Article citations relating to the arts and humanities. Find additional relevant sources by using citation analysis tools.

A collection of art reference works available online. Includes The Oxford Companion to Western Art; The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms; and the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics. Also articles about topics, bibliographies for further research, and thousands of searchable images made available through Oxford's partnerships with museums, galleries, and other outstanding arts organizations.

HathiTrust is a partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

Demographics based on religious ideology. Useful for sociology, religious studies, and political science students analyzing religious trends and their societal impact.

This cross-curricular research tool supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Its informed, differing views present each side of an issue . Features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, etc.

A selective bibliography of academic articles covering all of the fields of Jewish studies. The articles listed are collected from thousands of journals, in print or electronic, from collections of articles and from offprints sent by researchers. RAMBI refers to articles in Hebrew, Latin or Cyrillic letters. The database is updated on a daily basis. Available in Hebrew or English.

Newspaper articles from the Chinese Recorder, which was published between 1867-1941. The paper was intended primarily for the missionaries in China, the Chinese Recorder also circulated to mission supporters and theological schools in the home countries. It also contains images.

A collection of texts for Islamic theology and law. Offers an index of all words found in traditions included in the six canonical ḥadīth collections of Sunni Islam.

This collection demonstrates the impact of the holy book of Islam in Europe. Long before printing with movable type became common practice in the Islamic world, Korans had been printed in Arabic type in several European cities. The collection includes Korans and Koran translations, printed between 1537 and 1857, and is of interest to book historians, theologians, philologists, and scholars of Islamic Studies alike.

This collection comprises 170 German-language titles of books and pamphlets. The collection presents anti-Semitism as an issue in politics, economics, religion, and education. Most of the writings date from the 1920s and 1930s and many are directly connected with Nazi groups. The works are principally anti-Semitic, but include writings on other groups as well, including Jehovahs Witnesses, the Jesuits, and the Freemasons. Also included are history, pseudo-history, and fiction.

John A. Ryan was a Professor of Political Science and Professor of Moral Theology at the Catholic University of America from 1915 until 1939 and Director of the National Catholic Welfare Council's Social Action Department during its first 25 years. Ryan’s relationship with President Franklin D. Roosevelt and the New Deal garnered him the nickname "Right Reverend New Dealer." The John A. Ryan Papers span from 1892 to 1945, with a heavy focus on the last twenty years of his life, 1925 to 1945. Most of the collection consists of Ryan’s correspondence, focusing on the Catholic Church, politics, and Ryan’s writings, speaking engagements, and personal matters. The Ryan Papers also include articles, sermons, reports, pamphlets, lecture notes, scrapbooks, and a personal journal.

An organization dedicated to advocating for the interests of the American Jewish community and defending the civil rights of all Americans.

A searchable index to the King James Bible. Offers multiple variations for search criteria.

A unique finding aid which allows users to identify and localize text fragments, or even snippets, of the Qurʾān.

A searchable archive of magazines devoted to religious topics, spanning 19th-21st centuries. The publications were originally written by/for a wider populace rather than academic/cultural elites and offer insights into, for example, the influence of belief systems on public life, the history of popular religious movements and the means used by religions to gain adherents and communicate their ideologies.