Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Economics: Reference Sources

Credo Reference






Also try CREDO Topic pages in Economics and Macroeconomics

Selected Reference Titles

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2003.
Due to the interdisciplinary nature of the field, the Encyclopedia is divided not only by chronological and geographic boundaries, but also by related subfields such as agricultural history, demographic history, business history, and the histories of technology, migration, and transportation. The articles, all written and signed by international contributors, include scholars from Europe, Latin America, Africa, and Asia, and covers economic history in all areas of the world and segments of economies from prehistoric times to the present.
CALL NUMBER: [Ref] HC15 .O94 2003 v.1-5

Business Cycles and Depressions : an Encyclopedia / editor, David Glasner. New York : Garland Pub., 1997.
This single-volume work provides concise essays on theoretical concepts, statistical techniques, people, and historical events related to the study of business cycles and depressions. Includes bibliographies.
CALL NUMBER: [Ref] HB3711 .B936 1997

Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History / Thomas Carson, editor, Mary Bonk, associate editor. Detroit : Gale Group, c1999
In 1,000 entries on American economic historyare found overviews of eras, biographies, key events, business profiles, economic concepts and more. Research a specific time period using the "Contents by Era" table or the chronology of major economic events. Illustrated, with bibliographies.
CALL NUMBER: [Ref] HC102 .G35 1999 v.1-2

The European Union Encyclopedia and Directory.
Starting with a chronology of European integration since 1947, the encyclopedia's main body is an alphabetical sequence of entries on concepts, countries, people, and constituent bodies of the EU. Additional offerings are scholarly essays of topical interest, a directory of the EU with names and contact information for officers, and an extensive statistical survey of business, demographic, and political affairs in the EU as a whole and in its member states.
CALL NUMBER: [Ref] HC241.2 .E97 2004

Introductory Econometrics / Jeffrey Zax, 20111 

A Dictionary of Economics / John Black et al. New York : Oxford University Press, 2009.
This outstanding reference work defines more than 2,500 key economic terms with clear, concise entries that cover all aspects of the field from economic theory, applied microeconomics, and labor economics to public finance, monetary economics, and environmental economics. Readers will find particularly strong coverage of international trade and economic organizations and institutions as well as expanded coverage of common econometric concepts, highlighting major theoretical concepts such as agency, competition , and equilibrium. Also available online via Oxford Reference.
CALL NUMBER: [Ref] HB61 .B554 2009
http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t19

New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics Online
This new edition retains the inspiring tradition of bringing together the world's most influential economists writing in their own voice on their areas of expertise, but in its online incarnation it has married this tradition with the benefits of a dynamic, updated resource serving the information needs of a new generation of economists.

The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics and the Law / edited by Peter Newman. New York, NY : Stockton Press, 1998.
Third in the "New Palgrave" series, this title covers such aspects of its subject as Society, Economy, Polity, Law in General, Common Law Systems, Regulation, and Biography.
CALL NUMBER: [Ref] K487.E3 N480 1998 v.1-3

The New Palgrave Dictionary of Money & Finance / edited by Peter Newman, et al. New York : Stockton Press, 1992.
A companion volume to The New Palgrave: A Dictionary of Economics, this focuses on "empirical matters" of money and finance.
CALL NUMBER: [Ref] HG151 .N48 1992 v.1-3

Handbook in Economics Series
This series includes a variety of titles, providing a comprehensive set of reviews of literature on the economics of education, law, forecasting, growth, giving, and more; Including Handbook of experimental economics results, Handbook of law and economics, Handbook of industrial organization, and Handbook of environmental economics.

Census Atlas of the Unites States
The Census Atlas is a large-format publication about 300 pages long and containing almost 800 maps. A variety of topics are covered in the Census Atlas, ranging from language and ancestry characteristics to housing patterns and the geographic distribution of the population. A majority of the maps in the Census Atlas present data at the county level, but data also are sometimes mapped by state, census tract (for largest cities and metropolitan areas), and for selected American Indian reservations.
CALL NUMBER: [RefAtlas] G1201.E2 U5 2007

Handbook of Financial Econometrics and Statistics
The Handbook of Financial Econometrics and Statistics provides, in four volumes and over 100 chapters, a comprehensive overview of the primary methodologies in econometrics and statistics as applied to financial research. Including overviews of key concepts by the editors and in-depth contributions from leading scholars around the world, the Handbook is the definitive resource for both classic and cutting-edge theories, policies, and analytical techniques in the field.