Skip to main content

Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer Studies: Streaming Media, Websites, and News

Streaming Video/Audio

kanopy has more than 26,000 streaming films in its collection - on every topic imaginable. Search or browse by keyword/topic. LGBTQ Cinema includes more than 160 films including Moonlight, Heartstone, Tom of Finland, Bent, Lavender Limelight, Real Boy, Queer City, and more.

Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound - Produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection provides listeners with an unprecedented variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms.

Alexander Street Video -  LGBTQ Studies. Browse the broader disciplines for additional video content.

Media

Frameline - the Best in LGBT Media - Founded in 1977, Frameline is the nation's only nonprofit organization solely dedicated to the funding, exhibition, distribution and promotion of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender media arts. Frameline Voices is a new digital initiative that showcases diverse LGBT stories and expands access to films by and about people of color, transgender people, youth, and elders. More information

News

Loading ...
Loading ...
Loading ...
Loading ...
Loading ...
Loading ...

Websites/News

Voice of the Shuttle: Gender and Sexuality Studies
Includes General Resources, Women's Studies & Feminist Theory, Queer Studies, and more.

ACLU: Lesbian and Gay Rights
The LGBT Project fights discrimination and moves public opinion on LGBT rights through the courts, legislatures and public education.

ACT UP Oral History Project
"is a collection of interviews with surviving members of the AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power, New York. The project is coordinated by Jim Hubbard and Sarah Schulman, with camera work by James Wentzy (in New York) and S. Leo Chiang (on the West Coast.)...The purpose of this project is to present comprehensive, complex, human, collective, and individual pictures of the people who have made up ACT-UP/New York."

The Advocate
News, Politics, Health, Resources, and more

Campus Pride
Campus Pride represents the only national nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization for student leaders and campus groups working to create a safer college environment for LGBT students.

G/L/B/T Rights Web Sites
Courtesy of the American Association of Law Libraries Social Responsibilities Special Interest Section.

Human Rights Campaign
The Human Rights Campaign represents a grassroots force of over 750,000 members and supporters nationwide. As the largest national lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender civil rights organization, HRC envisions an America where LGBT people are ensured of their basic equal rights, and can be open, honest and safe at home, at work and in the community.

Lambda Legal
Lambda Legal is a national organization committed to achieving full recognition of the civil rights of lesbians, gay men, bisexuals, transgender people and those with HIV through impact litigation, education and public policy work.

National Gay and Lesbian Task Force
Works to build the grassroots political power of the LGBT community to win complete equality; through direct and grassroots lobbying to defeat anti-LGBT ballot initiatives and legislation and pass pro-LGBT legislation and other measures.

Washington Blade
Gay and Lesbian News Resource - Gay DC News, National Gay News, Entertainment and Opinion Newspaper

Daily News from the Advocate
Daily news feed - subscribe via RSS or just view.

Gay City News
Includes news, arts, perspectives, op-ed, etc. With searchable archive