It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Make new discoveries about your neighborhood and how its changed with the U.S. Census Bureau’s new interactive map, Census Explorer. See where stores and online retail are located in Census Explorer: Retail Edition. And see how the U.S. gets to work in Census Explorer: Commuting Edition.
CensusScope is an easy-to-use tool for investigating U.S. demographic trends, brought to you by the Social Science Data Analysis Network (SSDAN) at the University of Michigan. With eye-catching graphics and exportable trend data, CensusScope is designed for both generalists and specialists.
DataFerrett is a data analysis and extraction tool to customize federal, state, and local data to suit your requirements. Using DataFerrett, you can develop an unlimited array of customized spreadsheets that are as versatile and complex as your usage demands then turn those spreadsheets into graphs and maps without any additional software.
Easy Stats gives you quick and easy access to selected statistics collected by the U.S. Census Bureau through the American Community Survey. With the American Community Survey, detailed demographic and economic statistics are available every year for the nation's communities and their people.
This interactive tool provides the latest statistics about where you live. You can search different geographies including states, counties, incorporated places (towns/cities) and census designated places (CDP). With Easy Stats, you can view detailed racial, age and sex breakdowns and much more.
American FactFinder is the primary way to access data from the Decennial Census, the American Community Survey, the Puerto Rico Community Survey, the Economic Census, the Population Estimates Program and Annual Economic Surveys. To learn more about the surveys and censuses, see the "What We Provide" section on the American FactFinder main page. Click on 'more' next to any listed survey or census.
The Geographic Areas Reference Manual (GARM) describes in great detail the basic geographic entities the Census Bureau used in its various data tabulations for the 1990 Census and documents the purposes, definitions, standards, criteria, and procedures used to select, define, delineate, and revise those geographic entities. After the publication of the GARM in November 1994, there were two major changes in geographic areas for Census 2000: The Census Bureau no longer includes the Republic of Palau in U. S. censuses because it became an independent state on October 1, 1994. All entities referred to as "block numbering areas" (BNAs) in 1990 became census tracts.
My Congressional District gives you quick and easy access to selected statistics collected by the U.S. Census Bureau through the American Community Survey. The American Community Survey provides updated detailed demographic, social and economic statistics every year for the nation’s communities. With My Congressional District, you can view statistics covering age, employment, education, and much more. My Congressional District is powered by the American Community Survey and Census Application Programming Interface (API).
TIGER products are spatial extracts from the Census Bureau's MAF/TIGER database, containing features such as roads, railroads, rivers, as well as legal and statistical geographic areas. The Census Bureau offers several file types and an online mapping application. In late May 2010 the TIGER Map Service was retired. This application used geography from the 1990 Census. The Census Bureau determined that it was time to retire the service. We have released a beta version of TIGERweb. TIGERweb is a set of web-based applications and services that allow users to view and search boundaries and attribute information for geographic entities that are stored in our MAF/TIGER database. TIGERweb includes an interactive viewer as well as a web mapping service (WMS).
The Geospatial Data Gateway (GDG) is the One Stop Source for environmental and natural resources data, at anytime, from anywhere, to anyone. The Gateway allows you to choose your area of interest, browse and select data from our catalog, customize the format, and have it downloaded or shipped on CD or DVD. This service is made available through a close partnership between the three Service Center Agencies (SCA); Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS), Farm Service Agency (FSA), and Rural Development (RD).
SEDAC has developed a variety of mapping tools, both web-based and stand-alone, to visualize, query, and analyze various map layers that are created from its geospatial data holdings. This page provides a list of all SEDAC mapping tools. In addition, tools developed by other projects that integrate SEDAC map layers and demonstrate interoperability with SEDAC map services are also included.
The Census Bureau is working to increase our use of visualization in making data available to the public, and this gallery is an early part of that effort. The first posted visualizations will pertain largely to historical population data, building on prior work done to portray historical changes in the growth and redistribution of the U.S. population. For later visualizations, the topics will expand beyond decennial census data to include the full breadth of Census Bureau data sets and subject areas, from household and family dynamics, to migration and geographic mobility, to economic indicators. 2012-present
Vimeo tutorial: https://vimeo.com/86613127 Datasets for everything from gene expression to employment demographics are growing so large and complex that automated methods sometimes seem like the only way to glean knowledge from them. But a new web-based tool being developed at Carnegie Mellon University provides the option to keep human judgment and intuition in the analytic loop. Called Explorable Visual Analytics, or EVA, the tool uses a novel computer architecture that enables the analyst to explore raw data through dynamic visualizations with minimal time delay. It's designed to help users make sense of "high-dimensional" data — that is, data with lots of parameters.
he Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA) strives to democratize access to the best data on religion. Founded as the American Religion Data Archive in 1997 and going online in 1998, the initial archive was targeted at researchers interested in American religion. The targeted audience and the data collection have both greatly expanded since 1998, now including American and international collections and developing features for educators, journalists, religious congregations, and researchers. Data included in the ARDA are submitted by the foremost religion scholars and research centers in the world. Currently housed in the Social Science Research Institute, the College of Liberal Arts, and the Department of Sociology at the Pennsylvania State University, the ARDA is funded by the Lilly Endowment, the John Templeton Foundation, Chapman University and the Pennsylvania State University.
Data-Planet Statistical Datasets provides easy access to an extensive repository of standardized and structured statistical data. The Data-Planet repository contains more than 90 billion data points from more than 70 source organizations. The over two billion time series in Data-Planet provide immediate access to data presented in charts, maps, graphs, and table form, via multiple points of entry. There are up to 2 billion charts, maps, views, rankings, time series and tables available for use in the Data-Planet repository. All of the data have been standardized and structured, and described with up to 37 fields of metadata, including a controlled vocabulary.
re3data.org is a global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines. It presents repositories for the permanent storage and access of data sets to researchers, funding bodies, publishers and scholarly institutions. re3data.org promotes a culture of sharing, increased access and better visibility of research data. The registry went live in autumn 2012 and is funded by the German Research Foundation (DFG).
In March 2013 re3data.org and Databib announced to merge their two directories into one service that will be managed under the auspices of DataCite by the end of 2015. The aim of this merger is to reduce duplication of effort and to better serve the research community with a single, sustainable registry of research data repositories that incorporates the best features of both projects.
This site provides information on economic, financial and socio-demographic data disseminated by countries participating in the GDDS. Current statistical practices of each country are described, together with their plans to improve their statistical systems. Guide for users is here: http://dsbb.imf.org/images/pdfs/gddsguide.pdf
The data and terminology presented in the Historical Census Browser are drawn directly from historical volumes of the U.S. Census of Population and Housing. What you cannot do on this site: Find Information about individuals Find information for areas below the county level (e.g. cities, census tracts) Download data. The site is not intended as a tool for downloading data for further research or more involved manipulation. Those who require this level of analysis should download the original data from ICPSR.
ICPSR advances and expands social and behavioral research, acting as a global leader in data stewardship and providing rich data resources and responsive educational opportunities for present and future generations. Approximately 740 universities (including Union College), government agencies, and other institutions are members of ICPSR. Faculty, staff, and students of member institutions have full direct access to the data archive and to all of ICPSR's services. One needs to set up an account but access is free.
The Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS-USA) consists of more than fifty high-precision samples of the American population drawn from fifteen federal censuses and from the American Community Surveys of 2000-2012. Some of these samples have existed for years, and others were created specifically for this database. These samples, which draw on every surviving census from 1850-2000, and the 2000-2012 ACS samples, collectively constitute our richest source of quantitative information on long-term changes in the American population. IPUMS is not a collection of compiled statistics; it is composed of microdata. Each record is a person, with all characteristics numerically coded. In most samples persons are organized into households, making it possible to study the characteristics of people in the context of their families or other co-residents. Because the data are individuals and not tables, researchers must use a statistical package to analyze the millions of records.
The MPC is one of the world’s leading developers of demographic data resources. They provide population data to thousands of researchers, policymakers, teachers, and students. All MPC data are available free over the internet.
Help Page: http://mcdc.missouri.edu/websas/geocorr90_htmls/geocorr.help.html The MABLE/Geocorr geographic correspondence engine generates files and/or reports showing the relationships between a wide variety of geographic coverages for the United States. It can, for example, tell you with which county or counties each ZIP code in the state of California shares population. It can tell you, for each of those ZIP/county intersections, what the size of that intersection is (based on 1990 population or other user-specifed variable) and what portion of the ZIP's total population is in that intersection. The application permits the user to specify the geographic scope of the correspondence files (typically, one or more complete states, but with the ability to specify counties, cities, or metropolitan areas within those states), and, of course, the specific geographic coverages to be processed.
During the first several decades of its existence, the National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) assembled an extensive data set that covers all aspects of the pre-WWI and interwar economies, including production, construction, employment, money, prices, asset market transactions, foreign trade, and government activity. Many series are highly disaggregated, and many exist at the monthly or quarterly frequency. The data set has some coverage of the United Kingdom, France and Germany, although it predominantly covers the United States. The data files are offered in two ASCII formats: Micro-TSP .db format and rectangular .dat format.
The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) provides, free of charge, aggregate census data and GIS-compatible boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2013. NHGIS does not provide tools for data analysis, mapping, or reporting. Rather, NHGIS supplies data files designed for use in spreadsheet applications (e.g., Microsoft Excel), statistical software (e.g., Stata, SPSS, SAS, R), or GIS applications (e.g., Esri ArcGIS). NHGIS is managed by the Minnesota Population Center at the University of Minnesota and funded by grants from the National Science Foundation and the Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development.
The Population Reference Bureau informs people around the world about population, health, and the environment, and empowers them to use that information to advance the well-being of current and future generations.
The SIPRI (Stockholm International Peace Research Institute) military expenditure project was established in 1967 to study developments in world military expenditure. Military expenditure is an indicator of the economic resources devoted to military purposes. The project monitors and analyses trends in military expenditure over time, looking at their economic, political and security drivers and their implications for global peace, security and development. The SIPRI Military Expenditure Database, containing data from 1988 to the most recent full calendar year (2014), has been updated.
Access to statistical information from Congressional Information Service, Inc. The service allows users to search summaries of statistical publications, then link to the full- text of selected publications on Statistical Universe and government Web sites.
"Primary" macro and regional sites that generate data (many long series) "Secondary" macro sites (data from primary sources packaged together, sometimes with analysis) "Secondary" regional data (data from primary sites nicely packaged)
The United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) launched a new internet based data service for the global user community. It brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point (http://data.un.org/). Users can now search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN system. Useful features like Country Profiles, Advanced Search and Glossaries are also provided to aid research. The numerous databases, tables and glossaries containing over 60 million data points cover a wide range of themes including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators.
A project of the Sunlight Foundation, this is a robust, searchable inventory of publicly available criminal justice datasets and research.
While not comprehensive, Hall of Justice contains nearly 10,000 datasets and research documents from all 50 states, the District of Columbia, U.S. territories and the federal government. The data was collected between September 2014 and October 2015. Datasets have been tagged so that users can search across the inventory for broad topics, ranging from death in custody to domestic violence to prison population. The inventory incorporates government as well as academic data.
The American Community Survey (ACS) is a mandatory, ongoing statistical survey that samples a small percentage of the population every year -- giving communities the information they need to plan investments and services.
American FactFinder provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data in American FactFinder come from several censuses and surveys. For more information see Using FactFinder and What We Provide.
The first AHS was conducted in 1973, under the name of the Annual Housing Survey, with a sample size of 60,000 housing units. The survey was conducted on an annual basis from 1973 to 1981. Due to budget constraints, it became biennial, therefore changing its name to the American Housing Survey. The AHS provides current information on a wide range of housing subjects, including size and composition of the nation's housing inventory, vacancies, fuel usage, physical condition of housing units, characteristics of occupants, equipment breakdowns, home improvements, mortgages and other housing costs, persons eligible for and beneficiaries of assisted housing, home values, and characteristics of recent movers. In addition to these core indicators, the 2013 AHS includes topical supplements on public transportation, emergency and disaster preparedness, community involvement, neighborhood characteristics, and doubled-up households (movers entering and leaving unit).
Topical supplements added in 2011 (health and safety hazards, modifications made to assist occupants with disabilities, and energy efficiency) were dropped, but may rotate back into the questionnaire in subsequent surveys.
This archive is a collection of georeferenced data files containing census information that spans the United States and its territories. These data files are value-added products derived from the original 1990 census files compiled by the U.S. Bureau of the Census.
High-quality analysis of population and economic data is vital for evidence-based decision making at all stages of a country’s development. Combining exceptional access to international data with the expertise of its staff, the U.S. Census Bureau conducts applied research on a range of demographic, economic, and health issues. U.S. Census Bureau experts work on a diverse spectrum of ongoing and short-term projects.
The Census of Agriculture is a complete count of U.S. farms and ranches and the people who operate them. Even small plots of land - whether rural or urban - growing fruit, vegetables or some food animals count if $1,000 or more of such products were raised and sold, or normally would have been sold, during the Census year. Taken only once every five years, it looks at land use and ownership, operator characteristics, production practices, income and expenditures.
The census tells us who we are and where we are going as a nation. The census helps our communities determine where to build everything from schools to supermarkets, and from homes to hospitals. It helps the government decide how to distribute funds and assistance to states and localities. It is also used to draw the lines of legislative districts and reapportion the seats each State holds in Congress. All documents, 1790 to 2010, are in PDF format with a filesize ≤1MB unless otherwise stated.
This section follows the evolution of the decennial census by detailing the events surrounding each of them. Political and technological changes, and the shifting public demand for information, have all shaped the modern census and the mission of the Census Bureau.
he first Guide to State and Local Census Geography (1990 CPH-I-18) was issued in June 1993 as a joint venture between the US Census Bureau and the Association of Public Data Users (APDU). The book contained an overview of census geography and had information about key geographic concepts for each state as it related to the 1990 Census. The US Census Bureau updated this publication based on geography for the 2010 Census and is making it available as a web publication. The format of this publication is similar to the 1993 publication in that it has information about the census geography of each state.
Through the decades, the census has collected data on race, ancestry, education, health, housing, and transportation. An examination of the questions asked during each census illustrates changes in our nation's understanding of race, the impact of immigration, growth of the Hispanic population, and computer usage. As a result of the census's evolution, the constitutionally mandated census has grown to provide important information about the U.S. population and its housing.
This application provides access to the Census Bureau programs that provide economic data for a user-selected industry. To choose the industry you are interested in: Enter the 2012 North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) code or keyword into the NAICS SEARCH box , or Choose the industry from the SELECT AN INDUSTRY menu
The Quarterly Workforce Indicators (QWI) provide local labor market statistics by industry, worker demographics, employer age and size. Unlike statistics tabulated from firm or person level data, the QWI source data are unique job-level data that link workers to their employers. Because of this link, labor market data in the QWI is available by worker age, sex, educational attainment, and race/ethnicity.
This paper reports the results of research and analysis undertaken by Census Bureau staff. It has undergone a more limited review than official Census Bureau publications. This report is released to inform interested parties of research and to encourage discussion. This paper presents decennial census population totals for the 100 largest cities and other urban places in the United States based on the 21 decennial censuses taken from 1790 to 1990. The paper represents the first time that the populations of the largest urban places at each census have been published in a single report and was prepared in response to numerous requests for this type of information.
Compiled by Documents Librarian emeritus Grace York at University of Michigan. Table for 1790-1970 adapted from U.S. Bureau of the Census, Population and Housing Queries in the U.S. Decennial Censuses, 1790-1970, Working Paper No. 39, Washington, D.C. 1973. Data for 1980-2000 compiled from corresponding Census questionnaires. Later revised based on Measuring America
The Census Bureau regularly releases publishes books of tables within a few years of the enumeration of each census. These books usually contain regular data series tabulated for the entire country and usually all states, counties, and major cities. The links for each decade lead to scans of all available published census volumes in PDF format. Available from the Minnesota Population Center, University of Minnesota
The State Data Center (SDC) Program is one of the Census Bureau's longest and most successful partnerships. The partnership between the 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the island areas and the Census Bureau was created in 1978 to make data available locally to the public through a network of state agencies, universities, libraries, and regional and local governments.The SDC lead organization is appointed by the Governor of each state/commonwealth, Puerto Rico, island area (American Samoa, Guam, The Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, Virgin Islands) or the Mayor of the District of Columbia. In 1988 the Business and Industry Data Center Program (BIDC) was added to meet the needs of local business communities for economic data. It provides businesses with education and access to Census Bureau data and products in addition to statistical resources.
Statistical Abstract data present here ranges from the most recent edition to the historical abstracts compiled throughout the decades. Some of the data were scanned as an effort to make historical abstract information available to the public. The display of data will continue as historical records become available. For access to volumes not available through this project, please contact the reference librarian.
The U.S. Census Bureau updated its popular World Population Clock Web tool with features and information for 228 countries. In addition to featuring the 10 most populous countries, already available in the clock, it now includes country profiles with trade and population statistics, such as total population, population per square kilometer, and goods exported from and imported to the United States. Additional features include graphics on population projections and top exported goods by U.S. state or territory.
Recognizing the growing complexity of the decennial census, Congress enacted legislation creating a permanent Census Office on March 6, 1902. It remained within Commerce when Commerce and Labor split into separate departments in 1913. In addition to the population census, the U.S. Census Bureau conducts numerous surveys collecting volumes of statistics about American homes, families, occupation, race, ethnicity, and scores of other subjects.
USA Counties features over 6,600 data items for the United States, States and counties from a variety of sources. Files include data published for 2010 population as well as many other items from the 2010 Census of Population and Housing, the 1990 census, the 1980 census and the 2007, 2002, 1997, and 1992 economic censuses.
The U.S. Census Bureau has terminated its support for the USA Counties database. To access the most current data, please refer to the organizations listed in the source file [XLS].
The first map allows data users to explore the difference a decade has made in patterns of population change in metropolitan and micropolitan statistical areas across the country. This is possible through swiping between two interactive maps – one covering the 2002-2003 period, the other 2012-2013. The second map permits users to determine the extent of population growth in each county between 2012 and 2013, and to quickly identify the primary source of that population change (such as natural increase or net migration).
The Census of Agriculture provides a detailed picture every five years of U.S. farms and ranches and the people who operate them. Conducted by USDA’s National Agricultural Statistics Service, the 2012 Census of Agriculture collected more than six million data items directly from farmers. The Ag Census Web Maps application makes this information available at the county level through a few clicks. The maps and accompanying data help users visualize, download, and analyze Census of Agriculture data in a geospatial context. The Ag Census Web Maps give researchers, policymakers, planners, lenders, agriculture agencies, agribusinesses, and farmers easy access to many factors that affect agriculture and farmers in more than 3,000 counties across the country.
This tool shows the four most commonly requested demographic measures for foreign countries using statistics from the International Data Base — total population, growth rate percent, life expectancy at birth and infant mortality rate — by clicking on a world map.
eleased to the public on April 14, 1997, this atlas is the first to show all leading causes of death by race and sex for small U.S. geographic areas referred to as Health Service Areas (HSA's). The 18 causes of death included in this atlas account for 83 percent of all deaths in the United States during 1988-92. In addition to maps with age-adjusted death rates for each HSA, the atlas includes maps that compare each HSA rate to the national rate, smoothed maps for each cause that show the broad geographic patterns at selected ages, and a chart with regional rates for each cause of death.
International Trade and Investment Country Facts Application--on the Bureau of Economic Analysis website gives users a snapshot of statistics on trade and investment between the United States and another country by simply clicking on a world map. For a video tour of the new data tool, visit https://youtu.be/xgLdKJV-g2g These fast facts at your fingertips can include: --Total exports, imports and trade balance between the United States and the country you select. --The top five categories of goods and services the United States buys from and sells to that country. --Country level data on U.S. direct investment abroad and foreign direct investment in the United States and on the activities of multinational enterprises such as employment and sales. The country snapshots, or factsheets, also contain charts and can be printed or downloaded to a spreadsheet.
BJS mission is to collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. These data are critical to federal, state, and local policymakers in combating crime and ensuring that justice is both efficient and evenhanded. Guide to the BJS Web Site: http://www.bjs.gov/content/pub/pdf/gbjsw3.pdf
The Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Its mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision-making. As an independent statistical agency, BLS serves its diverse user communities by providing products and services that are objective, timely, accurate, and relevant.
The BTS mission is to create, manage, and share transportation statistical knowledge with public and private transportation communities and the Nation.
The main purpose of BTS' work is to help advance DOT strategic goals. But we also aim to anticipate future needs and policy issues. Our challenge is to develop data and analyses that are relevant, high quality, timely, comparable, complete, and accessible-our strategic goals for transportation statistics.
Climate Data Online (CDO) provides free access to NCDC's archive of global historical weather and climate data in addition to station history information. These data include quality controlled daily, monthly, seasonal, and yearly measurements of temperature, precipitation, wind, and degree days as well as radar data and 30-year Climate Normals.
Since 1975, CBO has produced independent analyses of budgetary and economic issues to support the Congressional budget process. Each year, the agency’s economists and budget analysts produce dozens of reports and hundreds of cost estimates for proposed legislation. CBO is strictly nonpartisan; conducts objective, impartial analysis; and hires its employees solely on the basis of professional competence without regard to political affiliation. CBO does not make policy recommendations, and each report and cost estimate summarizes the methodology underlying the analysis.
The home of the U.S. Government’s open data Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more. To find datasets, you can: Enter key words in the search box on any page Browse on the left side through types, tags, formats, organizations, and publishers. Clicking on multiple items narrows your search. When your results appear, you can click on the “x” to the side of any single item to remove it from the search, or “clear all” to remove all selected items in a category. Search by a geospatial area, draw a boundary box on the map at the top left and click “Apply” to find all datasets that are tagged for that geographic area. “Interactive Datasets” at the top right takes you to datasets that can be explored online through a web browser
The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) provides a range of data resources in the form of online, searchable databases. Data are provided on topics such as the use of health care, the costs of care, trends in hospital care, health insurance coverage, out-of-pocket spending, and patient satisfaction.
The Drug Enforcement Administration was created by President Richard Nixon through an Executive Order in July 1973 in order to establish a single unified command to combat "an all-out global war on the drug menace." At its outset, DEA had 1,470 Special Agents and a budget of less than $75 million. Today, the DEA has nearly 5,000 Special Agents and a budget of $2.02 billion.
Discover science, technology, engineering research and data collections from the US Department of Energy. The DOE Data Explorer (DDE) was launched in 2008 as a way to guide users to collections of publicly available DOE-sponsored data. In 2011, OSTI began to announce individual datasets and register them for DOIs through its partnership with DataCite. These two distinct types of resources, data collections and datasets, are both searchable at DDE.
The Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program has been the starting place for law enforcement executives, students of criminal justice, researchers, members of the media, and the public at large seeking information on crime in the nation. The program was conceived in 1929 by the International Association of Chiefs of Police to meet the need for reliable uniform crime statistics for the nation. In 1930, the FBI was tasked with collecting, publishing, and archiving those statistics.
Today, four annual publications, Crime in the United States, National Incident-Based Reporting System, Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted, and Hate Crime Statistics are produced from data received from over 18,000 city, university/college, county, state, tribal, and federal law enforcement agencies voluntarily participating in the program. The crime data are submitted either through a state UCR Program or directly to the FBI’s UCR Program.
Since 1920, the Clerk of the House has collected and published the official vote counts for federal elections from the official sources among the various states and territories. Statistics from recent elections are available in scanned image (Adobe Acrobat .PDF) format. Please note that printing a whole document may take a long time.
The Bureau of Justice Statistics, through its Federal Justice Statistics Resource Center (FJSRC), compiles comprehensive information describing suspects and defendants processed in the federal criminal justice system. The Federal Criminal Case Processing Statistics (FCCPS) tool is an interface that can be used to analyze federal case processing data. Users can generate various statistics in the areas of federal law enforcement, prosecution/courts and incarcerations, and based on title and section of the U.S. Criminal Code. Data are available for the years from 1998 to 2012. This tool includes offenders held for violating federal laws. It excludes commitments from the D.C. Superior Court.
A trusted source for federal statistical information since 1997. FedStats supports a community of practice for over 100 agencies engaged in the production and dissemination of official federal statistics, and provides the public with a showcase of information, tools and news related to official Federal statistics.
FRASER preserves and provides access to economic and banking data and policy documents. To this end, various types of documents have been digitized, including the following: Publications of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System Publications of District Federal Reserve Banks Statements and speeches of Fed policymakers Archival materials of Fed policymakers Government data publications Statistical releases Congressional hearings Books Reports by various organizations
The GCMD holds more than 35,000 Earth science data set and service descriptions, which cover subject areas within the Earth and environmental sciences. The project mission is to assist researchers, policy makers, and the public in the discovery of and access to data, related services, and ancillary information (which includes descriptions of instruments and platforms) relevant to global change and Earth science research. Within this mission, the directory also offers online authoring tools to providers of data and services, facilitating the capability to make their products available to the Earth science community. In addition, citation information to properly credit data set contributions is offered, along with direct links to data and services.
The USITC Interactive Tariff and Trade DataWeb provides international trade statistics and U.S. tariff data to the public full-time and free of charge. U.S. import statistics, U.S. export statistics, U.S. tariffs, U.S. future tariffs and U.S. tariff preference information are available on a self-service, interactive basis. The USITC DataWeb responds to user-defined queries integrating international trade statistics with complex tariff and customs treatment, and allows both expert and non-expert users to create and save customized country and product lists for future re-use from anywhere in the world. International trade data are available for years 1989- present on a monthly, quarterly, annual, or year-to-date basis and can be retrieved in a number of classification systems, including the Harmonized Tariff Schedule (HTS), the Standard International Trade Classification (SITC), or the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS).
Their mission: to facilitate research in criminal justice and criminology, through the preservation, enhancement, and sharing of computerized data resources; through the production of original research based on archived data; and through specialized training workshops in quantitative analysis of crime and justice data.
The mission of the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) is to provide statistical information that will guide actions and policies to improve the health of the American people. As the Nation's principal health statistics agency, NCHS leads the way with accurate, relevant, and timely data.
The FastStats site provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance and is organized alphabetically. Links are provided to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages. Everything from "Access to health care" to "whooping cough."
NCSES statistical data are available in a variety of formats: Preformatted and interactive tables, data tools to help you generate your own tables, and microdata files. A couple of key publication titles are "Science and Engineering Indicators" and "Women, Minorities, and Persons with Disabilities in Science and Engineering."
SEDAC, the Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center, is one of the Distributed Active Archive Centers (DAACs) in the Earth Observing System Data and Information System (EOSDIS) of the U.S. National Aeronautics and Space Administration. SEDAC focuses on human interactions in the environment. Its mission is to develop and operate applications that support the integration of socioeconomic and Earth science data and to serve as an "Information Gateway" between the Earth and social sciences.
A Data Center in NASA's Earth Observing System Data and Information System (EOSDIS) — Hosted by CIESIN at Columbia University. SEDAC is one of the Distributed Active Archive Centers (DAACs) in the Earth Observing System Data and Information System (EOSDIS) of the U.S. National Aeronautics and Space Administration. Focusing on human interactions in the environment, SEDAC has as its mission to develop and operate applications that support the integration of socioeconomic and earth science data and to serve as an "Information Gateway" between earth sciences and social sciences.
State fact sheets provide information on population, income, education, employment, federal funds, organic agriculture, farm characteristics, farm financial indicators, top commodities, and exports, for each State in the United States. Links to county-level data are included when available.
The National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) is the nation’s principal health statistics agency, providing data to identify and address health issues. NCHS compiles statistical information to help guide public health and health policy decisions.
Get the latest annual and quarterly trade data with TradeStats Express.™ Retrieve, visualize, analyze, print and download your customized output. Presented by the Office of Trade and Economic Analysis (OTEA), Industry and Analysis, International Trade Administration, U.S. Department of Commerce.
The Official Source for U.S. Merchandise Trade Data
*NOTE* Access is free but one must register for an account in order to use this database.
The Foreign Trade Division of the U.S. Census Bureau is pleased to bring you USA Trade Online! With this dynamic service, you can access current and cumulative U.S. export and import data for over 9,000 export commodities and 17,000 import commodities. USA Trade Online provides trade statistics using the Harmonized System (HS) up to the 10-digit level and the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) commodity classification codes up to the 6-digit level.
The USGS Science Data Catalog provides seamless access to USGS research and monitoring data from across the nation. Users have the
ability to search, browse, or use a map-based interface to discover data. The Catalog includes metadata describing individual datasets, data collections, and observational or remotely-sensed data contained in national systems (rather than records about individual observations). All items in the Science Data Catalog must contain an actionable link to the data or a data service. Links must lead to downloadable datasets, such as a zip file, an individual spreadsheet, a topographic map, or a USGS Data Series Report. Additionally, links may lead to an online data system containing hundreds or even thousands of individual datasets, where users are prompted to execute a more specific search.
The goal of StatsAmerica is to provide actionable data for economic developers to use in site requests, developing metrics, grant writing and strategic planning. StatsAmerica is a service of the Indiana Business Research Center (IBRC) at Indiana University's Kelley School of Business, which is ranked among the nation's top business schools. With support from the Economic Development Administration, they have developed a unique and useful set of tools and reports, as well as providing access to other EDA-funded projects. They obtain thousands of data items from hundreds of data sets from dozens of federal and state sources, along with some commercial or private source data. While StatsAmerica adds value to these data through easy access and functionality, they acknowledge the direct agency source of the data on every table, profile or map. Value is added in in the form of calculations, graphs, comparisons of time or geography, time series and maps. To ensure total accuracy, all data are verified first by analyzing the source data and the resulting calculations they generate. These data are updated as they are released and arrive from the sources.