Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Federal Government Information: Maps

Material available through the three branches of government.

USGS

General Map Sites

 

  • Google Maps
    View maps and satellite imagery, get directions, create custom maps.
  • Google Earth
    Application for desktop, Web or mobile devices; view maps, satellite imagery, terrain, 3D buildings, galaxies, oceans; import geographic data (KML, KMZ, GPS).
  • United Nations Geospatial Information Section
    Contains a variety of downloadable general and UN peacekeeping maps.
  • U.S. Geological Survey: Maps, Imagery, and Publications
    Links to various U.S. Geological Survey maps, collections, and portals; download current and historical USGS topographic maps.
  • National Map
    Offers current topographic base map data and products, including elevation, orthoimagery, hydrography, geographic names, boundaries, transportation, structures, and land cover through The National Map Viewer.
  • National Geologic Map Database
    Geologic maps, datasets, and related geoscience information from the US Geological Survey and state geological surveys.
  • Earth Explorer
    Provides online search, browse display, metadata export, and data download for earth science data from the archives of the U.S. Geological Survey.
  • NOAA Climate.gov
    Source of timely and authoritative scientific data and information about climate; includes a variety of maps and data.
  • TopoZone
    TopoZone.com launched late in 1999 with the goal of being the best source online for USGS-based topographic maps. The site is simple and easy to use, mobile-friendly, and best of all totally FREE!
  • Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names® Online
    The TGN is not currently linked to maps, although the coordinates should allow you to find the places on a map. TGN is not a GIS. While many records in TGN include coordinates, these coordinates are approximate and are intended for reference ("finding purposes") only. TGN is intended to aid cataloging, research, and discovery of art historical, archaeological, and other scholarly information. However, its thesaural structure and emphasis on historical places make it useful for other disciplines in the broader Linked Open Data cloud. For GIS information, TGN may be linked to existing major, general-purpose, geographic databases. The total number of place names is currently 2,156,896.
    GeoPlatform
    GeoPlatform.gov was created to enhance geospatial resource sharing across the U.S. Government and the world, and to allow users to participate in an online geospatial services experience. Whether it's to discover and use up-to-date National Geospatial Data Assets (NGDAs), make a shared gallery of maps for a website, integrate quality National data into web applications, or more, GeoPlatform.gov is a place to stay connected to a fast evolving geospatial service ecosystem.
     
     
     

Map Collections

Exhibits