web
analytics
Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History: Reference Sources

Credo Reference



 

Selected Reference Sources

Encyclopedia of American History
Indexed with suggestions for further reading following each entry.
CALL NUMBER: Ref E174 .E53 2003

Encyclopedia of historic places
Identifies and provides background information on cities, towns, districts, territories, and nations around the world.
CALL NUMBER: Ref D9 .C29 2007 v.1 -3

Oxford Companion to United States Hisotry
With over 1,400 entries written by some 900 historians and other scholars, it illuminates not only America's political, diplomatic, and military history, but also social, cultural, and intellectual trends; science, technology, and medicine; the arts; and religion. Also available online via Oxford Reference
CALL NUMBER: Ref E174 .O94 2001
Also available online

Milestone documents in American History: exploring the primary sources that shaped America
The entries (some with typos) examine 133 chronologically arranged documents beginning with the British crown's Proclamation Act of 1763 and ending with the 2003 Supreme Court decision Lawrence v. Texas
CALL NUMBER: Ref E173 .M62 2008 v.1-4

Dictionary of the Middle Ages
Entries are in essay form with bibliographies following each topic entry. Indexed.
CALL NUMBER: Ref D114 .D5 1982
 
Hutchinson Dictionary of World History
http://site.ebrary.com/lib/unioncollege/detail.action?docID=10141177
Hutchinson Dictionary of 20th Century World History
http://site.ebrary.com/lib/unioncollege/detail.action?docID=10130746
Hutchinson Dictionary of American History
http://site.ebrary.com/lib/unioncollege/detail.action?docID=10141188

Oxford Reference Online: History.
A searchable and browsable collection of history dictionaries from Oxford University Press including: A Dictionary of British History, The Kings and Queens of Britain, The Oxford Dictionary of Local and Family History, A Dictionary of Political Biography, The Oxford Dictionary of Popes, The Oxford Dictionary of Saints, Who's Who in the Twentieth Century, A Dictionary of Twentieth-Century World History, The Oxford Guide to the United States Government, and A Dictionary of World History.

A dictionary of contemporary world history: 1900 to the present day
Gives detailed coverage of important historical figures and events of the 20th century
http://www.oxfordreference.com/view/10.1093/acref/9780199295678.001.0001/acref-9780199295678

A pocket guide to writing in history
Concise and comprehensive coverage of every step of the research and writing process--with detailed advice on documenting sources and avoiding plagiarism
CALL NUMBER: Ref D13 .R295 2018

Chronology of World History
Topically organized by date and indexed.
CALL NUMBER: Ref D11 .M39 1999

Atlas of American History
Includes the span of American history from the earliest settlement of the Americas over 12,000 years ago up to modern times. Maps, Graphs, Photos, etc.
CALL NUMBER: Ref G1201.S1 N37 2007

Great Events: 1900-2001
Provides coverage of a wide variety of events from national and world politics, wars, civil disturbances, disasters, crimes, business, scientific and medical breakthroughs, and other fields.
CALL NUMBER: Ref D421 .G627 2002 v.1 - 8

Oxford atlas of world history
"The Atlas of World History traces 12,000 years of history with 450 full color maps and over 200,000 words of text."
CALL NUMBER: [RefAtlas] G1030 .P57 2010

America discovered : a historical atlas of North American exploration
CALL NUMBER: [RefAtlas] G1106.S12 H3 2004