It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This site allows users to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
Early American Newspapers
Access to hundreds of historic newspapers, providing more than one million pages as fully text-searchable facsimile images. Based largely on Clarence Brigham's "History and Bibliography of American Newspapers,1690-1820." (Archive of Americana allows cross-searching of several databases: Early American Newspapers; American State Papers; US Congressional Serial Set.)
Full-image reproductions of Harper's Weekly from its beginning in 1857 to 1912. Provides access to information about 19th and early 20th century advertising, illustrations, culture, history, literature, and notable figures.
Provides access to American County Histories, the Pennsylvania Gazette (1728-1800), the paper called 'The New York Times of the 18th Century', Godey's Lady's Book (1830-1898), the Philadelphia magazine intended to entertain, inform and educate the women of America, and a collection of Philadephia papers,The Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective, (The Charleston Mercury * The New York Herald * Richmond Enquirer), African American Newspapers:The 19th Century, Frank Leslie’s Weekly, and more. Offers social, political and cultural perspectives of colonial America, the American Revolution, and the New Republic. Collections and coverage.
Irish Newspaper Archives
Includes titles such as the Irish Independent (1905 - current), Sunday Independent, The Freeman's Journal, the Nation and many of Ireland's leading regional newspapers. Currently with 29 titles online stretching as far back as 1763 and running right up to current with the archive being updated daily with the newspaper partners current e-Editions. Fully word searchable.
Making of America (Cornell University)
Access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles from 22 journals with 19th century imprints. The collection is particularly strong in the areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. Making of America is a collaboration between the libraries of Cornell University and the University of Michigan to document American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction by drawing upon the primary materials at these two institutions. The Michigan site is available at: http://www.hti.umich.edu/m/moagrp/
Making of America (University of Michigan)
Access to 9,500 books and almost 2500 digitized issues of 12 journals published in the 19th century. The collection is particularly strong in the areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. Making of America is a collaboration between the libraries of Cornell University and the University of Michigan to document American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction by drawing upon unique primary materials held at each institution. The Cornell site is available at: http://cdl.library.cornell.edu/moa/index.html
containing newspaper pages from 1759 to present. Every newspaper in the archive is fully searchable by keyword and date.
Times Digital Archive (London)
"Widely regarded as the world's "newspaper of record", The Times of London has offered readers in- depth, award-winning and objective coverage of global events since 1785, and is the oldest daily newspaper in continuous publication.."