web
analytics
Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Financial Analysis (Economics 334): Company Data

This webpage aims to lead students of Economics 334 (and others) to sources of financial information on the firm, as well as to background information on corporate operating environments.

Financial Databases

Lexis-Nexis AcademicCompany Financial Information
Here is a "gold mine" of data about the firm. At that site, use the area called "Get Company Info". See its "Company Dossier" and "Company Profiles" for such reports as

  • SEC 10-K, 10-Q, 8-K, 20-F reports, as well as annual reports and filings
  • NAARS annual reports
  • International as well as U.S. publicly and privately held company reports
  • Bankruptcy reports
  • Standard and Poor corporate descriptions
  • Disclosure reports
  • Hoover's company reports
  • Stock reports

Mergent Online (formerly FIS Online)
At the above link is the electronic database comprising the information traditionally to be found in the paper-formatMoody's Manuals.  The user can retrieve data on a single firm or on several comparatively.  Typically the Website provides 10 years' worth of data, but a historical backfile is available on a cd-rom (please ask at the Reference Desk).

Reference Sources

America's Corporate Families: the Billion Dollar Directory - Useful for identifying corporate affiliations, subsidiaries, and acquisitions.
CALL NUMBER: Ref HG 4057 .A143

https://union.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/fulldisplay?docid=alma991002432839704651&context=L&vid=01UCNY_INST:01UCNY_INST&search_scope=MyInst_and_CI&tab=Everything&lang=en

Hoover's Handbook of American Business - Popular two-page treatments with some useful analysis and data.[Note: Other "Hoovers" can be seen directly adjacent on the shelf: Hoover's Handbook of World Business, Hoover's Handbook of Emerging Companies, Hoover's Handbook of Private Companies. Online version available via LexisNexis.
CALL NUMBER: Ref HG 4057 .A2862

https://union.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/fulldisplay?docid=alma991001478719704651&context=L&vid=01UCNY_INST:01UCNY_INST&search_scope=MyInst_and_CI&tab=Everything&lang=en

Mergent's Handbook of NASDAQ Stocks - Complements Mergent Online with investor information about the NASDAQ-listed firms.
CALL NUMBER: Ref HG 4501 .M58

https://union.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/fulldisplay?docid=alma991002302579704651&context=L&vid=01UCNY_INST:01UCNY_INST&search_scope=MyInst_and_CI&tab=Everything&lang=en

Million Dollar Directory - Although not a copious supply of data, a handy place to confirm an SIC code, or to make a start.
CALL NUMBER: Ref HC 102 .D8

https://union.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/fulldisplay?docid=alma991002571059704651&context=L&vid=01UCNY_INST:01UCNY_INST&search_scope=MyInst_and_CI&tab=Everything&lang=en

Moody's Industrial Manual - Offers substantial corporate history and description, balance sheet data and financials both current and retrospective.
Note: Because of access to Mergent Online, "Moody's" volumes are no longer shelved in the Schaffer Library building but are in off-site storage. These volumes, running back many years (see Library Web Catalog), remain useful for longitudinal studies. Besides "industrials", other "Moody's manuals" are similarly available for paging from the storage facility of Schaffer Library: Moody's Bank and Finance Manual, Moody's International Manual, Moody's Municipal and Government Manual, Moody's OTC Industrial Manual, Moody's Public Utility Manual, and Moody's Transportation Manual.
CALL NUMBER: qHG 4961 .M67
https://union.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/fulldisplay?docid=alma991001757049704651&context=L&vid=01UCNY_INST:01UCNY_INST&search_scope=MyInst_and_CI&tab=Everything&lang=en
Important: Go to Mergent Online for the current, electronic version of Moody's.

Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys - Specializes in comparative company analysis in major sectors and industries as well as sector overview and projection. IMPORTANT FINDING HELP: The chapters appear to be in random order, but they actually follow the order of the second - i.e., chronological publication sequence - table of contents.
CALL NUMBER: qHC 106.6 .S74 (Current issue at Ref Desk) and Online Version



Value Line Investment Survey - The principal looseleaf investors' equities advisory service.
CALL NUMBER: Ref HG 4501 .V26 (Current year kept at the Reference Desk)
https://jump.valueline.com/Loggedon.aspx

Websites

Below one reaches the Securities and Exchange Commission's data, accumulated from mandated corporate filings (the 10K, the 10Q, etc., reports).  Following the link to the SEC's "Edgar" are several commercial stock-picking sites that offer the same data repackaged, together with useful analyses.


EDGAR- The primary source of corporate financial data is EDGAR, found here at the Web-site of the Securities and Exchange Commission (http://www.sec.gov/).  Instructive as it may be to use the primary source, access to "EDGAR" information is offered by Mergent Online.

Selected commercial websites that offer research, analysis, and comparative information drawing upon the publicly filed data: 

Daily Stocks 

InvestorGuide

Reuters' Stock Information

Zacks Equity Research