National Climatic Data Center
The NCDC is one of three submodules of NOAA’s National Environmental Satellite, Data, and Information Service (NESDIS) with a focus on climate data. The NCDC provides access to global and U.S. environmental data from satellites and other sources including climate monitoring data at a range of temporal and spatial scales, records of extreme weather events (including storms and freeze/frost events), and a rainfall frequency atlas.
National Weather Service GIS Data Portal
The National Weather Service (NWS) provides weather, hydrologic, and climate forecasts and warnings for the United States, its territories, adjacent waters and ocean areas, for the protection of life and property and the enhancement of the national economy. NWS data and products form a national information database and infrastructure which can be used by other governmental agencies, the private sector, the public, and the global community
Prism Data Explorer
PRISM is a unique knowledge-based system that uses point measurements of precipitation, temperature, and other climatic factors to produce continuous, digital grid estimates of monthly, yearly, and event-based climatic parameters.
Climate Change
The Geo Data Portal allows you to draw a polygon on the earth and configure a batch job which will send results to you be e-mail.
Crime
National Archive of Criminal Justice Mapper
These data collections contain geographic identifiers that could be geocoded for GIS analysis. Users may have to do additional work to make these collections compatible with their particular GIS.
Environment
EnviroMapper (EPA)
A single point of access to select U.S. EPA environmental data. This Web site provides access to several EPA databases to provide you with information about environmental activities that may affect air, water, and land anywhere in the United States. With Envirofacts, you can learn more about these environmental activities in your area or you can generate maps of environmental information.
ReefGIS
ReefBase - A Global Information System On Coral Reefs
Environmental Data Discovery and Transformation Center
EnDDaT is a tool used to discover data from our natural environment. This tool accesses data from a variety of data sources, compiles and processes the data, and performs common transformations. The end result is that environmental data from multiple sources is sorted into a single table.
Hazards
FEMA GeoPortal
FEMA provides GIS representations of ongoing "situations" as well as live data feeds (GeoRSS). Situations may include wildfires, floods, tornados, hurricanes, etc. FEMA also provide historical data.
Earthquake Data
Searchable databases and downloadable earthquake and seismic data.
Health
Health Data Interactive
Health Data Interactive presents tables with national health statistics for infants, children, adolescents, adults, and older adults. Tables can be customized by age, gender, race/ethnicity, and geographic location to explore different trends and patterns.
Health Resources and Services Administration Data Warehouse
Provides an array of visual and interactive tools for searching, accessing, viewing, and displaying the HRSA data. The HDW is used by HRSA, grantees, care providers, the public, and other audiences interested in HRSA’s public health services and information
History
HyperCities
HyperCities is a collaborative research and educational platform for traveling back in time to explore the historical layers of city spaces in an interactive, hypermedia environment.
Spatial history Project (Stanford)
The Spatial History Project at Stanford University is a place for a collaborative community of students, staff, and scholars to engage in creative spatial, textual and visual analysis to further research in the humanities.
Historical Maps
American Memory - Library of Congress Historical Map Collection
Includes the Revolutionary Era (1750-1789), Civil War, Hotchkiss Collection, Louisianna Purchase (1572-1902), National Parks, Railroads (1828- 1900), World War II, Rochambeau Maps, Liberia (1830-1870) and more.
David Rumsey Historical Map Collection
The historical map collection has over 42,000 maps and images online. The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North American and South American maps and other cartographic materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia, and Africa are also represented.
Images of early maps on the web
The only comprehensive listing of its kind, comprising almost 2,500 annotated free links - updated monthly.
Old Maps Online
The OldMapsOnline Portal is an easy-to-use gateway to historical maps in libraries around the world.
It allows the user to search for online digital historical maps across numerous different collections via a geographical search. Search by typing a place-name or by clicking in the map window, and narrow by date. The search results provide a direct link to the map image on the website of the host institution.
Land
National Geophysical Data Center
NGDC provides stewardship, products and services for geophysical data describing the solid earth, marine, and solar-terrestrial environment, as well as earth observations from space
using it's CORS, Contiuously Operating Reference Stations.
Mineral Resources Online Spatial data
Interactive maps and downloadable data for regional and global Geology, Geochemistry, Geophysics, and Mineral Resources
National Hydrography Dataset
The NHD is the surface water component of The National Map. It is a digital vector dataset used by geographic information systems GIS. It contains features such as lakes, ponds, streams, rivers, canals, dams and streamgages. These data are designed to be used in general mapping and in the analysis of surface-water systems.
National Oceanographic Data Center NODC provides the world's largest collection of freely available oceanographic data including water temperatures dating back to the late 1700's and measuring thousands of meters deep.
The Digital Coast NOAA's Coastal Services Center: while the need for good data forms the foundation of the website, the basic premise behind the effort is the understanding that data alone are not enough. Most people need help turning these data into information that can be used when making important decisions about coastal management.
Transportation
Tiger Line/Shapefiles
TIGER provides shapfiles including features such as roads, railroads, rivers, which contain geographic entity codes that can be linked to the Census Bureau’s demographic data. Some of the TIGER/Line Shapefiles are pre-joined with Census data (geodatabases) for easy import into ArcGIS.
U.S. Dept. of Transportation Geospatial Information
This site includes the National Transportation Atlas Databases 2013 for download only (or request DVD). The NTAD includes points, polygons and polylines for the nation's transportation infrastructure including airports, railroads, highways, and waterways.
You can also find statistics regarding many aspects of transportation. Aircraft Inventory, Maps of structurally deficient bridges, pipleines, etc.
