It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CDC-TV videos cover a variety of health, safety and preparedness topics as part of CDC′s goal of achieving true improvements in people′s lives by accelerating health impact and reducing health disparities. Most videos are short and easily downloadable while all include closed–captioning (some videos are also open–captioned), so they are accessible to all interested viewers. The library of videos will expand to include single–topic presentations as well as different video series focused on children, parents, and public health professionals. Providing short, high–quality videos is part of CDC′s goal to increase people′s access to the information necessary to help prevent illness and injury and to protect their health and that of their families.
What do you have to do to prepare for a MRI? Will having a liver biopsy be painful? Will I need to do anything special afterward? How soon will it be safe to go home after a cardiac catheterization and what are the risks? How soon will the results of that antibody test be back? Our information on diagnostic tests includes the following procedures. Harvard Medical School website.
Listing of organizations with toll free numbers from the National Library of Medicine's DIRLINE Database. Subject areas include AIDS, cancer, maternal and child health, aging, disabilities, substance abuse and mental health. Organizations include federal, state and local government agencies, information and referral centers, professional societies, support groups, and voluntary associations. The services of the organizations listed have not be reviewed or evaluated.
From the National Library of Medicine, this comprehensive site is the first place to go for health related questions. It's available in English and Spanish (with some content available in over 45 languages).
Sponsored by Stanford Hospital & Clinics, Stanford Health Library provides scientifically-based medical information to help people make informed decisions about their health and health care. All of their services are free .
No direct recommendation or sponsorship by Consumer and Patient Health Imformation Section or Medical Library Association of these listed web resources is implied. The resources referenced here are intended to provide general information for you. Some resources will contain information that is the opinion of the author and not necessarily that of your physician. Please consult your healthcare provider for individual information on your specific condition.
WikiDoc was created to freely share medical knowledge and to foster collaboration among healthcare providers. Launched by Dr. C. Michael Gibson of Harvard Medical School in late 2005, WikiDoc is the first and largest wiki dedicated to medicine on the Internet. WikiDoc is kept up to date by over 5,000 collaborators around the world. The content has now been updated nearly half a million times. There is no pharmaceutical or device industry support for the site. WikiDoc is intended to be a free shared resource for housestaff (in preparation for morning report), medical students (in preparation for morning rounds) and fellows (in preparation for conferences). Nurses and attending physicians may find WikiDoc valuable in improving and maintaining their fund of general medical knowledge.
This is the NLM's web site for consumer information about genetic conditions and the genes or chromosomes related to those conditions. It includes Help Me Understand Genetics, a helpful, understandable resource for students and the general public alike.
Tuck aims to improve sleep hygiene, health, and wellness through the creation and dissemination of comprehensive, unbiased, free resources. Boasting the largest collection of aggregated data on sleep surfaces on the web (over 95,000 customer experiences from nearly 1,000 individual sources), Tuck aims to power consumers, sleep professionals, and the troubled sleeper looking for answers.
A peer-reviewed, bimonthly, multidisciplinary journal of the Jacobs Institute. It publishes original research, systematic review articles, and commentaries on women's health care and policy. WHI gives priority to scholarly articles that improve understanding of how social, healthcare, and policy factors relate to women’s health. It has a particular focus on women's issues in the context of the U.S. healthcare delivery system and policymaking processes.
This Web resource on Asian American Health, sponsored by the National Library of Medicine, is designed to increase public awareness of the health concerns of these important minority groups, who are major contributors to our society's economy, innovation, and vibrancy. Links are provided to an assortment of documents, Web sites, databases, and other resources.
For more than fifty years, folklorists associated with the University of California, Los Angeles have systematically documented beliefs and practices relating to folk medicine and alternative healthcare. In order to make the data more readily available to the worldwide community of researchers and medical practitioners, the Online Archive of American Folk Medicine was established in 1996 under the direction of Dr. Michael Owen Jones, a professor of folklore and history at UCLA.
Explains disorders, who is likely to get them, their symptoms, how they're diagnosed, how they might be prevented, and how they can be treated; also provides information about prognosis. Based on the world's most widely used textbook of medicine—The Merck Manual—but written in everyday language by 300 outstanding contributors. Provided free of charge on the Internet by Merck & Co., Inc., as a public service.
An online database of country-specific clinical research regulatory information designed to save time and effort in planning and implementing clinical research. Use the map feature to obtain a digestible overview of a country's regulatory requirements, and use the comparison search tool to view two countries’ requirements side-by-side. ClinRegs is currently in BETA mode, and your feedback on the site’s content and functionality is encouraged.
Credit for content
Majority compiled by Kelli Ham, Consumer Health and Technology Coordinator
NN/LM Pacific Southwest Region, UCLA Louise M. Darling Biomedical Library