web
analytics
Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NY6 Upstate Global/Local Collective: St. Lawrence University - Human Rights

This guide contains information about archives, academic and regional collections related to the NY6 Global/Local themes on human rights and sustainability. The project is funded by a grant from the Mellon Foundation.

Human Rights

Central America Peace Project (CAPP) Records.

ODY Special Collections MSS. COLL. NO. 128          

The Central America Peace Project was a grass roots organization formed in 1984 by citizens of Northern New York concerned with the escalating threat to peace, the systematic denial of human and economic rights, and the ever-increasing US military intervention in Central America. The purpose of CAPP was to educate the community to the Central America Crisis and to initiate and coordinate peace projects involving the North Country community. The goals of the CAPP included creating a framework for peace in Central America, the suspension of all US military and economic aid to nations that lack protection of basic human rights, withdrawal of US military personnel and bases, and the promotion of civilian-led democracy. CAPP sought to achieve its goals by working throughout the North Country providing speakers, films, information and petitions to schools, churches, and social organizations and utilizing the local media

Summary:  Included in the collection are notes, printed materials, fliers, brochures, newspaper publications, propaganda, and correspondence pertaining to Central American aid and the CAPP 1980-1990. While most of the materials in the collection are in English, some of the content of the collection is in Spanish.

Philip Harnden Papers 1991-2008.

ODY Special Collections MSS. COLL. NO. 163          

Summary: Series 1 consists of e-mail communications, hand-written notes and letters, lists of people attending meetings, fliers, news clippings on the groups activities, financial statements, petitions, photos of demonstrations and other activities related to Alternatives to War. The records run from October 2001 through 2006. Series 2 includes North Country Gardener records of business operations, subscriptions, circulation, press releases, promotion and source material for articles, as well as copies of each completed newsletter between 1991 to 1993. Also included is a 92-page three ring binder showing the development of the publication as well as a copy of each issue.

Note: Alternatives to War described itself as a coalition of people in northern New York who advocate a sensible and nonviolent approach to resolving national and international conflicts. The organizations profile was raised considerably when leaders of the group successfully brought former United Nations weapons inspector Scott Ritter, a high profile opponent of the war, to Canton and Potsdam in Oct. 2002, with the help of a number of other groups and the local colleges. North Country Gardener was a bi-monthly newsletter for people gardening in northern New York. 13 issues were published before publication was suspended after the Winter 1993 issue. Subscriptions varied from a little over 100 by the second issue to about 300 by the end of its run. The initial subscriber base was culled from respondents to a North Country gardeners survey put out by Mr. Harnden in 1990. While the newsletter was relatively short lived, comments from readers point to a well-received and highly appreciated publication that fulfilled its niche role of dispensing useful gardening information focused on the Northern New York region.

North Country Women's Collective, Women Together Records.

ODY Special Collections MSS. COLL. NO. 180          

Summary:  This collection contains records of Women Together: The Journal of North Country Women. The collection includes copies of 8 completed newsletter issues dating from 1977 to 1981, however, there exist gaps among the newsletter volume and issue numbers, suggesting that there may be additional completed issues of Women Together. The collection also consists of typed and hand-written original source material for articles, newspaper clippings, original photographs, and mockups of 6 drafted newsletters. There is also hand-written correspondence from newsletter staff members, contributors and readers. In addition, the collection includes 2 notebooks containing records of business operations from 1979 and 1980 such as meeting notes, meeting attendance, newsletter subscribers, newsletter distributors and newsletter sales. There is also a group photograph of the North Country Women members, as well as photographs from the opening of the North Country Women’s Shelter.

Note:  Women Together: The Journal of North Country Women was a bi-monthly, then quarterly, then bi-annual, newsletter for women in northern New York produced by a group of women who referred to themselves as North Country Women or The North Country Women’s Collective. North Country Women began meeting as a group in 1974 to discuss feminism and raise consciousness. The Women Together newsletter was born from these meetings and discussions as a tool to circulate ideas and increase consciousness.

Owen D. Young Library

Mark McMurray

Curator of Special Collections & University Archivist
Canton, NY 13617
315.229.5476

Email

http://www.stlawu.edu/library/manuscript-collections

Central America Peace Project

 Image courtesy of Special Collections, Owen D. Young Library, St. Lawrence University.