web
analytics
Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NY6 Upstate Global/Local Collective: Colgate University

This guide contains information about archives, academic and regional collections related to the NY6 Global/Local themes on human rights and sustainability. The project is funded by a grant from the Mellon Foundation.

Sustainability

Edgarton-Bishop Farm records, 1790-1960. 

Papers relating to the Edgarton-Bishop families of Deansboro and Bouckville, New York. Correspondence, farm-related records, financial records, biographical materials.

Chenango Canal collection, 1821-1984.

Materials relating to the legislative background, construction, and operation of the canal linking Binghamton to Utica. Includes many of the original surveyor's books, as well as other ephemera.

exlibris.colgate.edu/speccoll/findaids/html/M2025.html

 

William P. Locke papers, 1850-1889, 1924-1928. 

Business records of Waterville, New York, hop buyer and processor, 1885-1900. Also contains information on the cider and vinegar industries in Central New York.

Human Rights

Gerrit Smith collection, 1837-1873.

Letters, pamphlets, broadsides and books by and about the noted Peterboro abolitionist. Books, pamphlets and broadsides have been catalogued in the Libraries’ online catalog. 

Migrant worker collection, 1940-1960s.

Details concerning the migrant workers who were imported to Hamilton, New York, to pick vegetables during the summer, particularly regarding the education of their children. Includes maps and details of the individual camps.

Pierrepont Noyes Rhineland collection.

Official papers of the U.S. delegate on the Rhineland Commission, 1918-1919. Includes the correspondence between Noyes and the State Department. Major series include the Kapp Putsch and Ruhr Rebellion, labor strife, the Frankfurt Incident, food shortages.

Conference on American Foreign Policy records, 1943-1962. 

Materials relating to the summer institute sponsored by Colgate University (1949-1961), attended by many of the leading world political figures or their delegates. Includes copies of their speeches, general accounts, etc.

http://exlibris.colgate.edu/speccoll/findaids/html/A1060.html

Colgate University Peace and Conflict Studies Program records, 1940-1974.

This collection documents activities at Colgate related to atomic arms control and conscientious objectors to war. It includes conference and committee materials, clippings, and magazine articles as well as newsletters and booklets from various national organizations promoting arms control.

Colgate University

Sarah Keen

Head of Special Collections & University Archivist
Associate Professor in the Libraries
Hamilton, NY 13346
315.228.7934

Email

http://exlibris.colgate.edu:83/speccoll/default.html