Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NY6 Upstate Global/Local Collective: Union College

This guide contains information about archives, academic and regional collections related to the NY6 Global/Local themes on human rights and sustainability. The project is funded by a grant from the Mellon Foundation.

Human Rights

Malcolm Willison Collection. 

Collection contains progressive publications local and national pamphlets, newsletters, bulletins, and booklets pertaining to Civil Rights and anti-Vietnam War movements. Also included is a selection of articles, newspaper clippings, papers, and notes concerning various local groups such as the Troy Citizen Involvement Network. and articles concerning racial, environmental, and political issues. Some letters, notes, and board meeting/steering committee minutes concerning The New Citizen, an alternative community newspaper, with which Willison was involved. 

 

Sustainability

Archives of the Association for the Protection of the Adirondacks, 1901-1984.

The Archives of the Association include reports, letters, maps, conference proceedings and other records pertaining to every substantial issue which has confronted the Adirondack Park and the Forest Preserve since 1901, when the Association was formed. 

John S. Apperson Papers, 1900-1964.

Apperson's grass roots efforts to preserve the Forest Preserve and especially the Lake George region are the focus of this collection. Apperson, a GE employee, was an avid sportsman, entrepreneur and photographer who spent considerable time, money and energy championing his causes. The collection comprises app. 40 cu. feet and contains correspondence, pamphlets, litigation and photographs. It is currently in process and available for research in Jan 2015.

Paul Schaefer Papers.

Schaefer, a protege of Apperson's was a political activist  fighting for the preservation of the Adirondack Forest Preserve and a builder of homes who utilized recyclable and reclaimed materials in his many of his works. His extensive collection of correspondence, litigation,published and unpublished pamphlets and brochures and film and photograph collections chronicle the efforts of conservationists striving to protect the integrity of the Wilderness. The 160 cu ft collection is in process but accessible to researchers.

Louis Marshall Collection, 1915-1929.

The father of Bob Marshall, founder of the Wilderness Society, Louis Marshall was an active participant in the Constitutional Council, which defended the Forest Preserve as defined in Article XIV of New York State Law. Marshall, a victim of anti-Semitic sentiment when he attempted to join established clubs within the Park, founded the "Great Camp" of a small enclave of Jewish families called Knollwood. Marshall's earlier papers are in the American Jewish Library in Cleveland, Ohio; the collection contains correspondence, legal briefs  and photographs. Finding aid available.

Forest Ranger History.

Collected and donated by Louis C. Curth, the collection traces the history, organization, and activities of the New York State Forest Ranger Force from 1881 through the late twentieth century. The collection is partially processed.

Erwin Miller Archive.

Erwin Miller served as chairman of the ADK Conservation Committee's subcommittee on the Adirondack Protection Agency during the 1970's and 1980's. His records focus upon Unit Management Planning for state-owned lands, APA actions, and the actions of local government review boards on the APA.The collection is partially processed.

William K. Verner Papers, 1962-1985.

Verner was the Director of the Schenectady Museum and Planetarium and was a long term curator of the Adirondack Museum in Blue Mountain Lake. His papers span the years from 1962-1985 and include correspondence, pamphlets, ephemera, photographs and published works on a myriad of issues regarding the Adirondack Park. The collection is partially processed.

William James Stillman Collection.

This collection consists of the correspondence and other papers of William James Stillman (1828-1901) as well as a number of photographic albums and records. After graduating from Union College in 1848, Stillman worked as an artist, diplomat, and historian, but is best known as a journalist and photographer who served for several decades as a correspondent for the London Times in the Balkans, Greece, and Italy. The several large photograph albums donated by the family contain Stillman’s photos of Greece, Italy, and the Adirondacks.

Schaffer Library

Robyn Reed

Head of Access Services
Schenectady, NY 12308
518.388.6279

Email

http://www.union.edu/library/specialcollections/

Adirondack Research Library

Adirondack Research Library

Kelly Adirondack Center
Niskayuna, NY 12309
518.280.5951

Malcolm Willison Collection

Progressive publications, circa 1960s &1970s.
Image courtesy of Special Collections, Schaffer Library, Union College.