Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NY6 Upstate Global/Local Collective: Hobart and William Smith Colleges

This guide contains information about archives, academic and regional collections related to the NY6 Global/Local themes on human rights and sustainability. The project is funded by a grant from the Mellon Foundation.

Human Rights

The Robert Huff Papers.

This is a collection of photocopies of newspaper articles on the women’s rights movement, the Geneva Political Equality Club, and other subjects related to the suffrage movement.  Prof. Robert Huff wrote about Elizabeth Smith Miller and her daughter Anne Fitzhugh Miller, two Geneva women who were involved in the local movement.  All of the articles are photocopies of newspapers or microfilm print-outs rather than original primary sources.  The finding aid is available here:

https://library.hws.edu/archives/findingaids/pdf/huff.pdf.

Sustainability

The Seneca Lake Waterways Association collection contains the records of the Association from the 1960s and 70s. 

Not much is known about this group, nor the provenance of the collection; or when it was given to the Colleges.  The collection has a basic inventory which can be found here: https://library.hws.edu/archives/findingaids/pdf/waterways.pdf.  The inventory is a list of folder titles with some notes added.

Warren Hunting Smith Library

Katelyn Lamontagne

Archivist and Special Collections Librarian
Hobart and William Smith Colleges
Geneva, NY 14456
315.781.3009

Email

https://library.hws.edu/archives/

Robert Huff Papers

Geneva Political Equality Club

May 19, 1900. Party held at the home of suffragettes,
Elizabeth Smith Miller and her daughter Anne Fitzhugh Miller.

Image courtesy of the Archives and Special Collections, Warren Hunting Smith Library

Hobart and William Smith Colleges.