Skip to main content

Summon Guide

A mashup including description of the Summon service, selected documentation, best practices and what-not. of best practices, how-to, selected documentation

Introduction

“DISCOVERING” SUMMON

BRAINSTORMING SESSION

JANUARY 26, 2017

WHAT IS THE PURPOSE OF A DISCOVERY LAYER?


Beginning discovery, exploration, and access

An aid to research, especially novices, to remove barriers btw. Seekers → content

Help beginning researchers to get started on research

Help students “discover” relevant databases

Helps students see what we have access to

Help students get a broad sense of what’s there

 

Comprehensive gateway

Gateway to an ungrouped large amount of info

Comprehensive Discovery

Provide access (“one-stop”) to resources across our collections [no silos]

Common Interface Across resources

 

Efficient search and refinement

Use for both large or focused searches

Efficient searching for all (novice and advanced) searchers

Teach students + faculty the value of refining

 

Bonus access

Unexpected Discovery

Could help students add dimension to their research

Increased use of underutilized (but quality) resources

 

Familiar

Aligning library services w/ “real world” search styles

 

WHAT DO YOU LIKE ABOUT SUMMON?


Easy to like

Stable, reliable

Easy to explain in class

Students seem to like/use it.

 

Easy, intuitive one-stop access to content, full-text

“Start w/ Summon” -- point people there w/o them having to make a choice

Easy first pass access

Intuitive searching

One-stop” feature

Not limited to a specific database

One-search from main library page

Easy access to our catalog + f.t. Content

Help get full-text

 

Refinement

Advanced search interface

When it works well with refinements

Facets for narrowing search (useful, variety, approp.)

Facets

 

Stuff librarians like

Add results outside of library is an option but not a default

Librarians can see where things come from so we can pass that to students when consulting

Stacked entries. One entry for all formats.

De-duping. (Could be improved.)

 

WHEN DOES IT FAIL US?


Linking, sad

Not clear whether Summon fails us or we fail it. Biggest has been reliability of links and lack of awareness about content.

Unreliable links (links won’t work then work if you click them again; does not direct to full text)

Bad links

Permalinks, sad.

Link fails or goes to an imprecise location

 

Consistent access to target databases

Some databases don’t play well w/ Summon (Gale General One File, EBSCOhost)

Doesn’t play well with EBSCO

Doesn’t seem to pull from all the resources we have selected

Need more customized targets (e.g. CNY collections)

 

Recommended databases

Doesn’t display good recommended databases

Featured databases aren’t always the best options

 

Content/search results

Sometimes too many ref. Sources.

I never have great success w/ known item searches

“Imperfect” sync w/ catalog

 

Tagging and refinement

I think the subject tagging (product of match/merge) could be better, more helpful

Doesn’t always refine with desired results

 

Duplication

Multiple hits of same item

Duplications where one entry says we have full text + the other says we don’t

 

Bad metadata

Metadata is just wrong. I.e. to the wrong year.

Dubious citation output

Citations are wrong. Again bad metadata?

 

Marketing and promotion

No one knows what “Summon” means until told

Some faculty don’t like it.

 

Miscellaneous, general and specific

Slow, non-responsive

Don’t like the collapsing columns

 

WHAT FEATURES/IMPROVEMENTS WOULD YOU LIKE TO SEE IN SUMMON THAT ARE NOT CURRENTLY OFFERED?


Policy

I am wondering about a content policy that aims toward reducing “junk” in favor of quality

More transparency on impact of admin options

A different model for including catalog records

IR & SC & Gallery content?

Better integration w/ libguides, refworks, utilization of best bets

 

New features

Separate book & e-book filters

Patron account as in MyEBSCOhost

Suggested search terms

Subject profiles

Better identification of items visual

The databases listed (where the citations come from)

If full text doesn’t work have a message saying search for journal title in journals

 

Improvements to Existing Features

Better interaction with EBSCO

Better job at recommended DBs

Recommended databases

Reliable links

Precise linking to content

Less duplication


L. Bush, D. Fuller, G. Golderman, P. Koonz, C. Seymour