web
analytics
Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

U.S.A.: Empire of Liberty? Empire for Liberty?: Secondary Sources: Articles

Selected Databases via Schaffer

Selected Databases. Use the Browse Databases A-Z list or Primo (discovers what you won't find in Google. It searches across many subscription databases and the library catalog simultaneously.) You can also search by desired subject for more specialized resources (History, Political Science, Gender & Women's Studies, etc.)

If using EBSCOhost - select the Choose Databases link at the top if the screen and select multiple subject databases that are relevant to your topic.

Finding Articles

Journals, also known as periodicals or magazines, generally fall under three categories:

  • Scholarly Journals
  • Trade Publications
  • Popular Magazines

Scholarly Journals are written by academics for academics. They are generally focused on a specific academic field or discipline. Their purpose is to advance scholarship in that field by publishing in-depth research studies. Most scholarly journals are also peer reviewed. Most databases will allow you to limit to scholarly/academic/peer-review.

Trade Publications, or professional magazines, are written by staff writers or practitioners in a given trade or profession. The intent is to share industry news, trends, and advances. They are also used to advertise trade specific products and job openings. Most trade publications do not undergo the peer review process; however, there are exceptions. 

Popular Magazines are written by journalists to inform or entertain the general public. They cover current events, hot topics, news items, etc. They are not peer reviewed. Magazine articles might contain references to scholarly research, but the articles themselves are not scholarly.

See Examples 

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Try Primo, our new discovery interface - where you can locate physical resources, directly access electronic resources, and place requests across our collections.

Mind the scopes - scopes are searchable domains...the default scope is to search everything, books, articles and more. "everything" combines the library catalog (mostly books) and e-resources (mostly articles).

Google Scholar

Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles. Visit "Connect to Google Scholar" for how to fully take advantage of this search index. 

Google Scholar Search