web
analytics
Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Food for Thought: Selected Primary Source Material

Selected Primary Source Material

Feeding America: The Historic American Cookbook Project  - The Michigan State University Library and the MSU Museum presents this online collection of the most important and influential 19th and early 20th century American cookbooks. The digital archive will include page images of 75 cookbooks in the MSU Library's collection as well as searchable full-text transcriptions. The site will also feature a glossary of cookery terms, essays by culinary historian Jan Longone, and multidimensional images of antique cooking implements from the collections of the MSU Museum.

Godey’s Lady’s Book - the early issues included biographical sketches, articles about mineralogy, handcrafts, female costume, the dance, equestrienne procedures, health and hygiene, recipes and remedies and the like.

Historical Dietary Guidance Digital Collection - Includes historical nutrition education materials from the federal government, such as posters, recipes, and radio transcripts, as well as current nutrition education materials reviewed by the Dietary Guidance Review Committee.

Key Ingredients: America by Food - From the Smithsonian Institution

Little Cookbooks: the Alan and Shirley Brocker Sliker Culinary Collection - Thousands of food and cookery related publications produced primarily by companies in the United States from the late nineteenth century up to the present. The collection provides a rich resource to study the evolution and history of advertising, food products, individual companies, technology, food preparation, and food production.

National Agricultural Digital Library Collections- documents from the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA)

Not by Bread Alone: America's Culinary Heritage - via Cornell University;explores the influences and inventions that have shaped American food habits over the past two hundred years

Recipe for Victory: Food and Cooking in Wartime - From the University of Wisconsin: books and government publications on the nutritional value of foods, how to grow productive gardens in less than ideal conditions, and cookbooks with recipes for dealing with scarcity; works from the U.S. and England published between 1917 and 1919

Vintage Ad Browser - Browse food ads by decade, 1840 -2000 World War II Posters at Northwestern University Libraries - Browse by subject for posters relating to nutrition, food conservation/rationing, victory gardens, canning & preserving, etc.