Selected Sources available via Schaffer Library - SRS 200 - Cuba and the Cuban Revolution - Subject Research, Course Guides, Documentation at Union College

Selected Databases via Schaffer

For the complete A-Z listing of databases - select the desired subject (History, Economics/Business, Political Science, Gender & Women's Studies, etc.)

America History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS) Online This link opens in a new window

Selected Primary Source Databases via Schaffer

A selected listing of primary source databases available via Schaffer Library. Here's a more complete listing.

CQ Reseacher
Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research.

Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window
From the award-winning, nongovernmental National Security Archive, this resource consists of expertly curated, and meticulously indexed, declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events – including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions – from 1945 to the present. Each collection is assembled by foreign policy experts and features chronologies, glossaries, bibliographies, and scholarly overviews to provide unparalleled access to the defining international issues of our time.

The Cuban Missile Crisis, 1962

The Cuban Missile Crisis Revisited: An International Collection of Documents, From the Bay of Pigs to the Brink of Nuclear War

Cuba and the U.S. 1959-2016

Cuban Missile Crisis: 50th Anniversary Update

---------------------

Cuban missile crisis, 1962 : a National Security Archive documents reader / edited by Laurence Chang and Peter Kornbluh.
Call Number: E841 .C845 1992

Bay of Pigs declassified : the secret CIA report on the invasion of Cuba / edited by Peter Kornbluh.
Call Number: F1788 .B290 1998

Homeland Security Digital Archive
Sources include, but are not limited to: Federal, state and local governments; International governments and institutions; Nonprofit organizations and private sector entities; Think tanks, research centers, colleges and universities, and more.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times 1851-2018 This link opens in a new window
...news as primary source material dating back to the period before the Civil War.
Feminism in Cuba: Nineteenth through Twentieth Century Archival Documents This link opens in a new window
Mostly in Spanish: This collection compiled from Cuban sources, spans the period from Cuban independence to the end of the Batista regime. The collection sheds light on Cuban feminism, women in politics, literature by Cuban women and the legal status of Cuban women.

Selected Music/ Spoken Word of the Revolution

Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound This link opens in a new window
Produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection provides listeners with an unprecedented variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms.

Cancion Protesta: Protest Songs of Latin America

Cuba Va!: Songs of the New Generation of Revolutionary Cuba

Sacred Rhythms of Cuban Santería

Che Guevara Speaks - includes Farewell Letter to Fidel and the Cuban People, Octover 3, 1965 , and more.

Streaming Video

kanopy has more than 26,000 streaming films in its collection - on every topic imaginable. Search or browse by keyword/topic. Selected Cuba and the Cuban Revolution titles include:

Fidel: The Untold Story - A Look into Castro's Personal Life

Fidel - The Life and Leadership of Fidel Castro

The Fidel Castro Tapes

Icons Of Our Time: Che Guevara

Ernesto 'Che' Guevara: The Bolivian Diary

Infamous Assassinations: Che Guevara

Maestra - The Women of Cuba's National Literacy Campaign

Cuban Missile Crisis - Three Men Go to War

Cubamerican - A Million Refugees' Quest for Freedom

Will the Real Terrorist Please Stand Up? - An In-Depth Look at the Complex History Between the U.S. & Cuba