Subject Research, Course Guides, Documentation: Food for Thought: Home

Trial of Food Studies Online

Food Studies Online - http://search.alexanderstreet.com/food

Trial through 5/23/18
"Food Studies Online is a first-of-its-kind database, bringing together rare and hard-to-find archival content with visual ephemera, text, and video."

Topic Explorer

Topic Explorer
There are many ways to identify a topic for research. Included links are selected as a way to browse topics of current interest and begin exploring them. The custom search engine below includes a variety of journalistic resources, government sites, policy centers and think tanks that might provide more topics or background.

Research and Writing: Book Shelf

Patterns for College Writing
Call Number: PE1417 .P36 2010
The Craft of Research
Call Number: [Ref] Q180.55.M4 B66 2016

Research and Writing

The Writing Center
Need help with a paper? Check out a variety of resources from the Writing Center here in the library or stop in to get assistance.

Selected Background Information

Encyclopedias and other reference tools are often a good starting point for a general overview of or introduction to a particular topic. The following are suggested:

Cambridge world history of food
TX353 .C255 2000 v.1-2
A collection of original essays and entries related to the history of food and nutrition worldwide, including specific foods and nutrients.
Encyclopedia of Agriculture and Food Systems
3-volume reference work comprehensively covers the important areas of agriculture and food science
Encyclopedia of American Food and Drink
food trends, biographical entries, both historical and contemporary
Encyclopedia of Food and Agricultural Ethics
includes summaries of historical approaches, current scholarship, social movements, and new trends from the standpoint of the ethical notions that have shaped them
Food: A Culinary History
explores culinary evolution and eating habits from prehistoric times to the present
Food and Famine in the 21st Century
[Ref] HC79.F3 F66 2012 v.1-2
examines specific famines throughout history and contains entries on key topics related to food production, security and policies, and famine,
Larousse gastronomique; the encyclopedia of food, wine & cookery
[q] TX349 .M613
"The ultimate compendium of gastronomical knowledge"
Nectar and Ambrosia: An Encyclopedia of Food in World Mythology
GR498 .A53 2000
Two unique indexes--one lists food by function, such as fertility or immortality, and one by ceremony, such as harvest or burial
Oxford encyclopedia of food and drink in America
[Ref] TX349 .E45 2013 v.1-3
reflects the many changes in American food consciousness during the twenty-first century

Citation Tools

RefWorks at Union College
Information about creating an account and using the citation tool.
Citation Style
Schaffer Library's links to online guides to various citation styles.
EasyBib
The Free Automatic Bibliography and Citation Maker
Save time by creating a Works Cited instantly in MLA, APA, or Chicago!

Subject Guide

Lindsay Bush

Email Me

Schaffer Library LibGuides

Food for Thought: Home