It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
America: History & Life with Full Text is "the definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada," from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to the present this database also provides full-text coverage of more than 196 journals and more than 92 books.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text is an exceptional resource that covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 forward, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and much more.
Online full-text of journals focusing on the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others. At present, Project Muse provides full-text access to 600+ scholarly, peer-reviewed journal titles since 1995.
Selected Primary Source Databases via Schaffer
A selected listing of primary source databases available via Schaffer Library. Here's a more complete listing.
Diverse primary source materials reflecting broad views across American history and culture. Include, for example, African American Newspapers, American County Histories, The Civil War Newspapers, Godey’s Lady’s Book, The Pennsylvania Gazette, History of Woman Suffrage, Frank Leslie’s Weekly, The Liberator, Twelve Years a Slave, and more.
Search or browse early American newspapers including titles from all 50 present states published between 1690 and 1922.
Includes: Early American Newspapers, Series 1 (1690 - 1876), Early American Newspapers, Series 2 (1758 - 1900), Early American Newspapers, Series 3 (1829 - 1922), Early American Newspapers, Series 4 (1756 - 1922), Early American Newspapers, Series 5 (1777
The magazine was intended to entertain, inform and educate the women of America. In addition to extensive fashion descriptions and plates, the early issues included biographical sketches, articles about mineralogy, handcrafts, female costume, the dance, equestrienne procedures, health and hygiene, recipes and remedies and the like. Gradually the periodical matured into an important literary magazine containing extensive book reviews and works by Harriet Beecher Stowe, Edgar Allan Poe, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow and many other celebrated 19th century authors who regularly furnished the magazine with essays, poetry and short stories.
Web-based version of Harper's Weekly. Browse by genre, or the pages by date, or search the Index to Harper's Weekly. This searchable full-text database is an accurately typed facsimile of all of the text found within the pages of Harper's Weekly. The 56 years of Harper’s Weekly provide a continuous record of what happened on a weekly basis from 1857 through 1912.