Skip to main content

U.S. Federal Government Shutdown in 2013: Home

Impact on the access to federal information of the Oct. 2013 government shutdown

Government Shutdown

Government Shutdown: What's closed, What's open?
CNN

Absolutely everything you need to know about how the government shutdown will work Washington Post Blog

Best Resources to Help Understand the Federal Government Shutdown includes a video by the NY Times "A Government Shutdown by the Numbers."
Larry Ferlazzo Blog

What Happens to .gov In a Shutdown
Sunlight Foundation Blog

Mortgages, health care and animals: What won't get governed during shutdown
Sunlight Foundation Blog post

GPO’s Federal Digital System (FDsys) will be updated, with Congressional and Federal Register information only.

Those looking for financial data to assess the impact of a shutdown will have to do it without help from the Congressional Budget Office and the Census, both of which are closing. The Bureau of Labor Statistics, which is scheduled to issue its monthly jobs report this Friday, is also closing.

 

 

Status of Selected Government Websites and Possible Workarounds

Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) is shutdown.

Business.gov is shutdown.

U.S. Census- use the following databases: Social Explorer, Statistical Abstract of the US (most current edition in  [Ref] HA202 .S680  2012 with earlier years shelved there too), Historical Census Browser    Missouri Census Data Center  and American Community Survey Profile

Quandl, a dataset index, stores data from more than 20 U.S. government websites including the Census Bureau and the USDA. Click on the Quantl Code (right hand column) to access the archived datasets.

U.S. Government Accountability Site is up but not being updated.

U.S. Dept. of Education Site is up but not being updated. National Center for Education Statistics- site is shutdown. Partial workaround- Use the Digest of education statistics, 2011 at the Reference Desk: [Govt Docs] ED 1.140  :2011.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Site is up but not being updated

National Park Service- Site is shutdown.

USDA Site is shutdown. Partial workaround- Use The USDA Economics, Statistics and Market Information System (ESMIS) collaboraton between The Mann Library at Cornell University and USDA.

U.S. Dept. of Labor Site is up but not being updated. Bureau of Labor Statistics Site is up but not being updated. Partial workaround- Use the Handbook of U.S. Labor Statistics, 2013 and earlier ones at [Ref] HD8051 .A630  2013.

DOE Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) will continue to make available OSTI databases, search tools and web pages available, including SciTech Connect and Science Accelerator

ERIC  is not accessible. The versions of ERIC from commercial database providers (EBSCOhost & Proquest) can be accessed, but are not being updated. For possible full-text to recent titles check online or the online catalog.  EBSCO Information Services (EBSCO) is making the government database ERIC available during the government shutdown. ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, is typically available through the government website (http://eric.ed.gov/) as well as via EBSCO’s EBSCOhost® research platform. Because of the shutdown, access to the full text of articles and other materials will not be available but researchers will have access to the full set of A&I records on EBSCOhost. Users going to http://www.ebsco.com/freeERIC will now see ERIC listed among the other free EBSCO databases such as GreenFILE™ and Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts™ (LISTA).

U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services Site is up but not being updated. 

Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System Site is working.

Library of Congress Site is back up but not being updated. The Legislative sites Thomas.gov and Beta.Congress.gov are working.

NOAA.gov and most associated sites are shutdown, except for: Weather.gov 

USGS site is down. Associated sites are working.
DiseaseMaps
Coastal Change Hazards: Hurricanes and Extreme Storms
Emergency Operations
Volcano Hazards Program
Water Resources of the United States


Various agencies are posting contingency plans on this OMB Website: Agency Contingency Plans which is updated as more plans are posted.

Archived Government sites

News Media Coverage

Database Coverage of the Government Shutdown

  • ProQuest Congressional
    The Congressional Basic Subscription covers abstracts and indexing for Hearings, Reports, Documents and Committee prints from 1970- present (there are links to HTML text from approximately the mid- 1990s) The Congressional basic subscription also covers bill tracking & profiles, bill text, members and committee coverage, the Daily Congressional Record and the Code of Federal Regulations and Federal Register, and political news.
  • Lexis Nexis Academic
    Full-text coverage of general news, business, legal, governmental and other topics.
  • Omnifile
    H.W. Wilson's most comprehensive database, providing indexed and abstracted records with accompanying full text from over 1300 periodicals. Indexing begins in 1982, abstracts in 1984, and full-text coverage in 1994. Content includes that in Humanities and Social Science Full Text.
  • Academic Search Premier
     This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including full text for more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for 1,000 titles. Academic Search Premier is updated on a daily basis via EBSCOhost.