Subject Research, Course Guides, Documentation: LIM Health Sciences resources: Articles, Databases, and Journals

Health Databases

Nursing and Allied Health This link opens in a new window
This database offers reliable, comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more.
Science Database This link opens in a new window
Database of academic journals that cover the general sciences. Resources date back to 1986 and include full-text.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Comprises citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. Also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
Science This link opens in a new window
Emphasis is on material pertaining to the interactions among science, technology, government, and society. Topical coverage includes the physical, biological, and social sciences.
Science Citation Index This link opens in a new window
A interdisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences. Contains cited references from 1997 to the present. Includes new cited references to patents per week.
Springer Link Journals This link opens in a new window
Providing researchers with access to millions of scientific documents from scholarly journals. (Also See Springer Link Ebooks)
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Includes ISI Science Citation Index 1997-present; Social Sciences Citation Index, 1997-present; and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1997-present. Search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. Search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.

While Web of Science is a citation database, when full-text content is available via a secondary resources supported by Schaffer Library, links to the full-text will appear.

Medline Plus

General Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database of thousands of magazines and journals, including full text for nearly 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital library of back issues of academic journals, books, and primary sources. Core titles from each discipline included. Moving wall, typically does not include the most current 3-5 years
arXiv This link opens in a new window
Electronic archive and distribution server for research articles. It provides open access to e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Economics, Natural Sciences, Statistics, Biology

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

Schaffer Library LibGuides

LIM Health Sciences resources

Instruction Librarian

Health Databases

General Databases