Subject Research, Course Guides, Documentation: Biomedical Engineering Resources: Articles, Databases, and Journals

Biomedical Databases and Websites

Science Database
Database of academic journals that cover the general sciences. Resources date back to 1986 and include full-text.
PubMed
Comprises citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. Also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.
Science
Emphasis is on material pertaining to the interactions among science, technology, government, and society. Topical coverage includes the physical, biological, and social sciences.
Science Citation Index
A interdisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences. Contains cited references from 1997 to the present. Includes new cited references to patents per week.
Springer Link Journals
Providing researchers with access to millions of scientific documents from scholarly journals. (Also See Springer Link Ebooks)
Web of Science

Journal article citations in science and technology, arts and humanities, and social sciences. Find additional relevant sources by using citation analysis tools.

Web of Science is a citation database, when full-text content is available via secondary resources supported by Schaffer Library, links to the full-text will appear.

ACS Publications
A collection of nearly 50 journals and reference guides in the chemical and related sciences.
Royal Society of Chemistry
The Royal Society of Chemistry produces 13 primary and four review journals covering all branches of chemistry, including inorganic chemistry, organic chemistry, analytical chemistry, physical chemistry and chemical physics.

Drugbank Online
DrugBank Online is a free online database containing information on drugs and drug targets. It combines detailed drug (i.e. chemical, pharmacological and pharmaceutical) data with comprehensive drug target (i.e. sequence, structure, and pathway) information.
ChEMBL
ChEMBL is a manually curated database of bioactive molecules with drug-like properties. It brings together chemical, bioactivity and genomic data to aid the translation of genomic information into effective new drugs.
ChEBI
Dictionary of small molecular entities that are natural or synthetic products used to intervene in the processes of living organisms. Data drawn from public files such as IntEnz and KEGG LIGAND, etc. (EMBL-EBI)
BRENDA: Comprehensive Enzyme Information System
Free database containing information on over 6500 enzymes: nomenclature, EC and registry numbers, reaction and specificity, inhibitors, structure, isolation, literature references, etc. (Technical University of Braunschweig)

Academic Search Premier
A multi-disciplinary database of thousands of magazines and journals, including full text for nearly 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.
JSTOR

A digital library of back issues of academic journals, books, and primary sources. Core titles from each discipline included. Moving wall, typically does not include the most current 3-5 years.

Browse or search JSTOR collections by subject.>
arXiv
Electronic archive and distribution server for research articles. It provides open access to e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Economics, Natural Sciences, Statistics, Biology

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.