Skip to Main Content

Gender, Sexuality, and Women's Studies: Archives & Library Collections

Photo Archives



Women of Protest - Photographs from the Records of the National Woman's Party. This online presentation is a selection of 448 photographs from the approximately 2,650 photographs in the Records of the National Woman’s Party collection, housed in the Manuscript Division of the Library of Congress.

 

Reports & Publications

 Research That Matters in the Lives of Women and Girls  from the American Association of University Women.

Human Rights Campaign  Publications

Progress of the World's Women - 2019/2020 report via UN Women. Additional publications include policy briefs, annual reports, case studies, and more.

American Women: Report of the President's Commission on the Status of Women - 1963

Gender Lens on Poverty - National Council for Research on Women [now called re:Gender] (2nd edition, 2014)

https://www.wikigender.org/wikigender

Institute for Women's Policy Research - includes fact sheets and research reports

World Bank: Gender - Key Reports

Archives & Library Collections

and more:

American Women via the American Memory Project of the Library of Congress. The site contains a slightly expanded and fully searchable version of the print publication American Women: A Library of Congress Guide for the Study of Women's History and Culture in the United States (Washington, D.C.: Library of Congress, 2001). The guide has been redesigned for online use, with added illustrations and links to existing digitized material located throughout the Library of Congress Web site. See the seven Women's History Collections

Archives of Sexuality and Gender provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas. 

Social and Cultural History: Letters and Diaries Online - offers two distinct but interrelated utilities. First, it brings together, on a single cross-searchable platform, the entire family of letter and diary databases that are available exclusively by purchase or subscription through Alexander Street Press. Of the material currently accessible through Letters and Diaries Online, full-text views of the following Alexander Street Press databases are available exclusively to subscribing institutions:

  • North American Women's Letters and Diaries
  • British and Irish Women's Letters and Diaries
  • North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories
  • The American Civil War: Letters and Diaries
  • Black Thought and Culture
  • Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries from the American Antiquarian Society.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 - Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000. Women and Social Movements contains 79 document projects, most of which are not otherwise available online. Altogether these document projects provide more than 2400 documents, approximately 900 images, and over 800 links to other websites. More than 32,000 pages of documents pertaining to Women and Social Movements, with 5,000 additional pages of documents added annually. A dictionary of social movements and organizations. A chronology of U.S. Women's History. Teaching Tools with lesson ideas and document-based questions related to the website's document projects. Twelve new document projects will be added annually.
 
Women's Studies Archive: Women's Issues and Identities -Global in scope, the archive presents materials covering the social, political, and professional aspects of women's lives and offers a look at the roles, experiences, and achievements of women in society. A wide range of primary sources provide a close look at some of the pioneers of women's history, a deep dive into the issues that have affected women, and the many contributions they have made to society.
 
Women's Studies Collections in History Vault - includes records of the National Woman's Party, League of Women Voters, and the Women's Action Alliance. The second module consists of manuscript collections from the Schlesinger Library at Radcliffe College. These collections focus on voting rights, national politics, and reproductive rights. The module on Women at Work during World War II consists of records of the Women's Bureau of the U.S. Department and correspondence of the director of the Women's Army Corps. The newest module is the Margaret Sanger Papers consisting of the Smith College Collections and Collected Documents. ProQuest has produced the Margaret Sanger Papers in association with the Margaret Sanger Papers Project at New York University.
807 Union St. Schenectady, NY 12308 ● Main Phone: 518.388.6277 ● Maintained by Schaffer Library © 2019 | Privacy Policy