Tools for Depository Administration: Manuals, Tutorials, Webinars, etc.

A Depository Library Council document with best practices for storing and retrieving depository materials in on-site and off-site storage. This document addresses issues related to depository collection moves to on-site and off-site storage, including what to do before, during, and after the move itself or when there is little time; bibliographic control issues; collaboration involving one or more depository or other libraries and/or other facilitites; and alternative sources of U.S. Government information that may be helpful for patron access during a collection move or as finding aids to help identify publications in storage.

Searchable by government agency or subject. Provides some description of content.

The purpose of this user manual is to provide
an introduction to GPO’s Federal Digital System (FDsys) and guidance on how to access Federal Government publications through FDsys.
After reading this user manual, you will be able to understand what FDsys is and how it works, access the publications and information you’re looking for with FDsys, and conduct various types of searches and narrow your results.

Article on how to prepare of your PAA.
Webcast is also available for viewing here: http://tinyurl.com/o3pct3a
This webcast provides an overview of PAAs. It discusses what a PAA is, how GPO conducts them and why, how to prepare for a PAA at your library, and the benefits of PAAs.

Downloadable flyer highlighting resources that are key starting points to utilize in order to learn about managing a Federal depository library.

A depository library may selectively house a portion of its depository publications or materials at other libraries or institutions, including other depository libraries and storage facilities.
Institutions must submit a written Selective Housing Agreement to GPO when depository materials are placed in institution(s) outside the depository director's authority. Since the depository material is Federal property and subject to FDLP regulations, the depository library must work with the housing partner or storage facility to create a SHA to ensure continued public access to the materials.

The tools on this wiki are of use to personnel who process and catalog materials distributed through the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) which is administered by the U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO). Many are available at no charge via the Internet. GPO staff members catalog and index United States federal government publications, creating or adapting most of the USMARC records used by FDLP library participants. This Toolbox brings together tools and guides for both new and experienced library staff who process and catalog depository materials.

Download the kit, and use the offerings as desktop background images, screensavers, in presentations, on websites, on monitors and multimedia displays, and for social media. Many of these can even be used for print materials as well.

At its first meeting in December 1995, the Government Information Locator Service (GILS) Board approved a recommendation by John Carlin, Archivist of the United States, for an evaluation study of GILS. Between September 1996 and March 1997, the investigators conducted extensive data collection and analysis to assess the current status, use, and user satisfaction with the U.S. Federal implementation of GILS. This document is a report of the evaluation study, including findings from the study and recommendations for improving the U.S. Federal GILS initiative.
Final Report submitted June 30, 1997

Sharing documentation and presentations
See also: http://www-personal.umich.edu/~graceyor/govdocs/godort/archive/www.htm

Archives of the listserv messages for GovDoc-L

This clearinghouse was established to assist federal depository library staff in creating intriguing and eye-catching displays for promoting government documents collections. A number of displays submitted to us from around the U.S. have been incorporated into this site. This enables others to view displays on numerous topics, as well as the sources used to create them.
You can find an alphabetical Subject List of displays which were featured at various libraries. Simply click on the desired topic to view the photos and source list from the respective library.

Lib2Gov.org is an engagement platform for library and government agency collaboration around digital/e-government services that has been designed with four goals:
To provide resources that help librarians think about how best to engage in e-government services in their libraries.
To provide communication tools to build and deepen relationships between librarians and government agencies.
To provide communication tools to facilitate the building of a community of practice among and between librarians to share best practice e-government engagement programs and services that meet community needs.
To identify selected and key government agency information, resources and services to assist librarians in meeting patron e-government needs.

The LOCKSS Program, based at Stanford University Libraries, provides libraries and publishers with award-winning, low-cost, open source digital preservation tools to preserve and provide access to persistent and authoritative digital content.

Downloadable PDF file.

Variety of agency and FDLP webinars on numerous topics

Eight guides with various subjects

Upcoming webinars, webcasts, and events hosted and presented by GPO, along with registration information

FDLP Academy's portal to Federal information training events and materials.

All depository libraries are legally required to complete this survey in order to fulfil their legal obligation to "report to the Superintendent of Documents at least every two years concerning their condition" (44 USC § 1909).

Data is compiled through the previous day for the current month. Historical data is available for a maximum of 12 months. Historical and monthly cumulative reports are available in the file repository of the FDLP Desktop.

This tutorial is designed to teach staff or student workers the SuDocs classification or call number system. The first section, SuDocs Basics, gives a brief overview of the system and focuses on the three most important things to remember. The second section is an interactive quiz with multiple choice and true/false questions, where even wrong answers teach a lesson. In the third section, you can arrange call numbers in shelving order in four different call number sequences.

Produced by University of Minnesota

Southeastern Louisiana University videos

AALL/GODORT via Internet Archive Wayback Machine
--SuDoc Tutorial with 3 modules and an on-line test

YouTube channel for GPO with tutorials and other informational videos available.