Library resources - MIN 209 - Climate Justice - Subject Research, Course Guides, Documentation at Union College

Using Primo

Primo is the library's discovery engine. Search for books, journal articles, data sets, government documents, and more at the same time.

To access Primo, go to the library's website: https://www.union.edu/schaffer-library

From there, use the search box to begin your Primo research.

Example searches to find scientific information about heat pumps:

Example searches on disproportionate impact of climate change on developing nations:

Climate change AND Indonesia [limited to peer-reviewed articles]
Environmental issues online - browse for areas, including entries such as "Sea level rise in the Pacific "

Databases

Environmental Issues Online This link opens in a new window
...brings together multimedia materials (text, archival primary sources, video and audio) around key environmental challenges, including climate change, water/air pollution, biodiversity, conservation, agriculture, deforestation and more. The database is curated around specific environmental issues and events from the 20th and 21st centuries.
Environmental Studies and Policy This link opens in a new window
Environmental Studies and Policy Collection provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and other reference sources covering environmental issues and policies. The database includes diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policymakers, and corporate interests.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Environment Complete offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Environment Complete contains more than 1,957,000 records from more than 1,700 domestic and international titles going back to the 1940s (including 1,125 active core titles). The database also contains full text for more than 680 journals, including many of the most used journals in the discipline, such as Environment (back to 1975), Ecologist, Conservation Biology, etc. Additionally, Environment Complete provides full text for 120 monographs, such as Encyclopedia of World Environmental History (3 volumes), Advances in Water Treatment & Environmental Management, etc.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
U.S. Climate Change Diplomacy: From the Montreal Protocol to the Paris Agreement, 1981-2015 This link opens in a new window
This collection focuses on two series of international negotiations that dominated U.S. climate policy during this period: the 1987 Montreal Protocol and the 2015 Paris Agreement.

Government Documents

The library is a U.S. federal depository. Schaffer has many government documents available in the library itself, and many are available online. For more information, visit our Government Documents guide. Primo will search many government documents repositories, though may not have the latest information and texts of bills.

Many government agencies have their own websites, such as:

congress.gov - texts of all legislative actions, committee membership, and Congressional Record publications.
senate.gov - information from the U.S. Senate
house.gov - information from the U.S. House of Representatives

These areas, as well as individual agencies (e.g., health.gov), provide full-text access to legislation, records, and references.

Interlibrary loan

Schaffer Library provides access to an enormous amount of material, but there are some things that we may not have. Use Interlibrary Loan to request the information you need. ILL will send you articles directly!

TIP: make sure you have as much information (like title, authors, date, journal name, issue number) as possible in your request.

Information about Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery: https://www.union.edu/schaffer-library/staff-departments/interlibrary-loan-and-document-delivery

Connect to Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad): https://union.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://union.illiad.oclc.org/illiad/illiad.dll

Schaffer Library LibGuides

MIN 209 - Climate Justice

Using Primo

Databases

Government Documents

Interlibrary loan