web
analytics
Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Japanese-American Incarceration: Reference Sources

Supplemental library resources for research paper

General Reference

Subject encyclopedias are helpful for gathering background information on your topic. Find relevant details, dates, important names, suggested readings.

  • Credo Reference - With The Greenwood Encyclopedia of American Regional Cultures: The Southwest , Encyclopedia of American Studies , Encyclopedia of Race and Racism, and more.
  • Densho Encyclopedia - A free on-line resource about the history of the Japanese American WWII exclusion and incarceration experience. This is a "live project" - the first version of the Encyclopedia officially launched September 1 with more than 300 articles. It is a continuing project with new articles and features being added on an ongoing basis.
  • Gale Virtual Reference - Includes Prejudice in the Modern World Reference Library, Encyclopedia of Race and Racism, Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice, Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America, and Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. History: Government and Politics.

Japanese-American internment center 1

San Bruno California. 1942. Dorothea Lange, photographer. National Archives and Records Administration.

[Click on the photo for a Credo encyclopedia article on internment camps]