It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
To search, go to:
Collections > A-Z > J >
Japanese American Archival Collection
Japanese American Evacuation and Resettlement Records
Japanese American Incarceration Images, 1941-1946
Japanese American relocation center views, 1942
Japanese American Relocation Collection
Japanese American Relocation Digital Archive: selected documents from the Bancroft Library
Japanese American Relocation Digital Archive: selected oral histories from the Bancroft Library
Find thousands of historic photographs, documents, newspapers, letters and other primary source materials that tell the story of the Japanese American community, from immigration to the WWII incarceration and its aftermath.
The Japanese camp newspapers are online and in microfilm:
allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.
...early issues of the Star Tribune documents the rise of Minneapolis as a business hub, with coverage of growth in flour- and graining-milling industries, culminating in the foundation of General Mills, Pillsbury and the Washburn-Crosby Company.
...during its first five decades, the San Francisco Chronicle presented issues from a young, Northwestern perspective, giving researchers a window through which to study westward expansion, Chinese immigration, machine politics, urban planning, war, public policy, and more. Mark Twain, Bret Harte, Jack London, and Rex Beach are among the writers who contributed to the San Francisco Chronicles pages some without benefit of a byline during the early years.
...reporting on events taking place shortly after the surrender of Apache Chief Geronimo and the fighting of the Mexican Revolution, to Americas entry into World War I, the founding of the Grand Canyon National Park, and the roots of todays immigration debates, this historical newspaper provides readers and researchers with a unique view of history from a Southwestern perspective.
A gateway to the Seattle Civil Rights and Labor History Project resources for exploring the civil rights activism of Asian Americans in the Pacific Northwest. Included are oral histories, research reports, newspaper reports, photographic collections, maps, historical documents.
The DPLA offers a single point of access to millions of items—photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more—from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States. Users can browse and search the DPLA’s collections by timeline, map, format, and topic; save items to customized lists;etc.
This portal includes links to the Camp Harmony Exhibit, Interrupted Lives: Japanese American Students at the University of Washington, 1941-42, Children of Minidoka and more. Includes newspapers, photographs, correspondence, books, and documents.
Includes access to "The online collection of Clara Breed, or "Miss Breed" as she was known by her young library patrons. Over 300 letters and cards received by Breed from Japanese American children and young adults during their WWII incarceration; Stanley Hayami Collection, the diary of a Japanese American student from Los Angeles who attended high school at the Heart Mountain concentration camp in Wyoming; Hisako Hibi Collection, includes sixty-three oil paintings painted by artist Hisako Hibi at Tanforan Assembly Center in California and Topaz concentration camp in Utah; and more
Chronicles the 1942 removal of Japanese Americans who lived in California, Arizona, Oregon, and Washington State, and their resettlement in internment camps for the duration of the war. The collection includes assembly center newspapers; clippings from West Coast and other newspapers and periodicals; religious organization publications; Wartime Civil Control Administration (WCCA) orders, proclamations, press releases, and reports; presidential executive orders and proclamations; Justice Department regulations; and reports of the Federal Security Agency and the American National Red Cross. The materials are compiled in bound volumes or folders, all of which were produced in 1942 by the Western Defense Command and Fourth Army, Office of Assistant Chief of Staff, Wartime Civil Control Administration, in San Francisco.