Skip to Main Content

Film at Schaffer Library

A faculty resource guide to Schaffer Library's audiovisual collections.

Important Update

To comply with the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998, Schaffer Library is taking a phased approach to eliminate its current practice of digitizing DVDs:

  • For Winter 24 and Spring 2024 terms, Schaffer Library will make every effort to fill media requests with an institutional license on a streaming platform. In cases where a film is only available on DVD, Schaffer Library will digitize the film from DVD.
  • Beginning Fall 2024, Schaffer Library will no longer digitize a film from DVD or provide access to previously digitized films on Panopto.

If you have questions or concerns about these changes, please contact Frances Maloy, College Librarian.

Introduction

Schaffer Library offers a vast array of audio and video collections for Union College, and continues to expand its streaming services and media purchases to meet growing demand. This guide provides information on how to access and use our various resources, as well as options to obtain materials outside of our licensing packages.

Search Primo for films

The best place to start your search is Primo, the library catalog. Primo searches our streaming databases and DVD collection at the same time, providing a comprehensive search. Enter your search terms below to get started.


Tips:

  • When searching for a title, enter as much of the title as you know.
  • Films from a particular region may be difficult to find. We recommend you use Primo to perform an advanced search for country and "film" or "motion picture"
  • To search by a director, enter some or all of the director's name. It does not matter if the first or last name is the first search term.

Popular streaming databases

Below are some of our popular streaming databases, which you can search directly. For a complete list of our streaming audio and video databases, please visit our A-Z Database List