Covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction and more. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts. As well as hundreds of full text scholarly journals, the database also includes recent full-text doctoral dissertations on sociology.
Includes subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus. Contains abstracts for more than 1,300 "core" coverage journals from 1895. Provides data mined from more than 450 "priority" coverage journals as well as from over 2,900 "selective" coverage journals. Extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other non-periodical content sources is included. Searchable cited references are also provided.
SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage
A interdisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences from 1997 to the present. Search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. Search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.
A consistent best-seller, the wide-ranging and authoritative Dictionary of Sociology was first published in 1994 and contains more than 2,500 entries on the terminology, methods, concepts, and thinkers in the field, as well as from the related fields of psychology, economics, anthropology,philosophy, and political science.For this fourth edition, Professor John Scott has conducted a thorough review of all entries to ensure that they are concise, focused, and up to date. Revisions reflect current intellectual debates and social conditions, particularly in relation to global and multi-cultural issues. New entries coverrelevant contemporary concepts, such as climate change, social media, terrorism, and intersectionality, as well as key living sociologists.This Dictionary is both an invaluable introduction to sociology for beginners, and an essential source of reference for more advanced students and teachers.
A Dictionary of Public Health. This dictionary covers terms used in public health science and practice, including ares such as social work, health policy and services, health economics, and administration.
Sociology by BarBara Marliene Scott; Mary Ann A. Schwartz
Publication Date: 2005-08-01
This brief introduction to sociology featuresintegrated coverage of social stratification and inequality; the application of social change theory and examination of individuals and organizations who work for social change; and the inclusion of feminism as one of the major sociological paradigms.
LGBTQ Issues in Education by George Wimberly (Editor)
Publication Date: 2015-09-30
LGBTQ Issues in Education: Advancing a Research Agenda examines the current state of the knowledge on LGBTQ issues in education and addresses future research directions. The editor and authors draw on existing literature, theories, and data as they synthesize key areas of research. Readers studying LGBTQ issues or working on adjacent topics will find the book to be an invaluable tool as it sets forth major findings and recommendations for additional research. Equally important, the book brings to light the importance of investing in research and data on a topic of critical educational and social significance.