Sociology

A collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, content covers how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas.

A comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. Topics include Criminology, law, criminal justice, law enforcement, addiction, family law, industrial security, and rehabilitation.

Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Includes resources from academic journals, books, magazines, and more.

Archive of scholarly periodicals that spans the humanities and social sciences, across 37 key subject areas. It is international in scope with the inclusion of more than 150 foreign-language titles. Coverage is from volume 1 issue 1 of each journal and all issues are digitized from cover to cover.

Contains all of the content available in LGBT Life as well as full text for more than 120 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, and 150+ full-text monographs/books. The database includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBT Thesaurus containing over 6,400 terms.

A collection of biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories from native and First people. The database represents the largest compilation ever created of biographical information on indigenous peoples from all areas of North America.

Based upon James P. Danky's African-American Newspapers and Periodicals, this database of historical newspapers covers life in the antebellum south through the civil rights movement.

An index of 100+ periodicals in Asian Studies (other journals are also included when applicable as identified by the BAS staff) In addition, various special projects have contributed substantial numbers of records to the database (among them journals on Southeast Asia dating as far back as 1779).

...explores prominent themes in world history since 1820: conquest, colonization, settlement, resistance, and post-coloniality, as told through womens voices. With a clear focus on bringing the voices of the colonized to the forefront, this highly-curated archive and database includes documents related to the Habsburg Empire, the Ottoman Empire, the British, French, Italian, Dutch, Russian, Japanese, and United States Empires, and settler societies in the United States, New Zealand and Australia.

An archive of historical periodicals focused on the lives and role of women in society from 1786 to 1933. Resources include monographs, manuscripts, newspapers, and more in full-text.

Includes thousands of private writings and personal narratives. With Black Thought & Culture; British & Irish Women's Letters and Diaries; American Civil War: Letters and Diaries; North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories; North American Women's Letters and Diaries; and Oral History Online.

A bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Includes annotated citations for books, journal articles, book chapters, conference papers, maps and atlases, and e-resources.

Combines data sources about the US into multiple reports, covering geographic, financial, and social issues within the country. Topics include general information, industrial data, occupational data, and financial data.

An international consortium of academic institutions and research organization. This database maintains a data archive of research files covering social and behavioral sciences, including data on education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and more.

Offers database for exploring demographics and their circumstances based on ideology.

WorldPublicOpinion.org is an international collaborative project whose aim is to give voice to public opinion around the world on international issues. As the world becomes increasingly integrated, problems have become increasingly global, pointing to a greater need for understanding between nations and for elucidating global norms. With the growth of democracy in the world, public opinion has come to play a greater role in the foreign policy process.