Subject Research, Course Guides, Documentation: Women and Gender Studies: Home

Begin Your Search in Gender and Women's Studies

Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Includes resources from academic journals, books, magazines, and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources in a wide range of disciplines. JSTOR typically does not include the most current 3-5 years of resources.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Full-text of scholarly, peer-reviewed journals focusing on the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others. Browse by title or research area. 1995 to present.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database of thousands of magazines and journals, including full text for nearly 4,000 peer-reviewed titles.

Reference and Encyclopedia Resources

Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender by Carol R. Ember (Editor); Melvin Ember (Editor)
ISBN: 9780306477706
Publication Date: 2003-12-31
The central aim of this encyclopedia is to give the reader a comparative perspective on issues involving conceptions of gender, gender differences, gender roles, relationships between the genders, and sexuality. The encyclopedia is divided into two volumes: Topics and Cultures. The combination of topical overviews and varying cultural portraits is what makes this encyclopedia a unique reference work for students, researchers and teachers interested in gender studies and cross-cultural variation in sex and gender. It deserves a place in the library of every university and every social science and health department. Contents:- Glossary. Cultural Conceptions of Gender. Gender Roles, Status, and Institutions. Sexuality and Male-Female Interaction. Sex and Gender in the World's Cultures.

Quick Citation Resources

Gender and Women's studies resources often use APA style. The APA website provides examples of how to cite and how to structure a paper in this style.

APA style follows this format:

Book Resource

Jackson, L. M. (2019). The psychology of prejudice: From attitudes to social action (2nd ed.). American Psychological Association. https://doi.org/10.1037/0000168-000

Journal Article Resource

Starr, C. R., & Zurbriggen, E. L. (2017). Sandra Bem’s gender schema theory after 34 years: A review of its reach and impact. Sex Roles, 76(9-10), 566-578. https://doi.org/10.1007/s11199-016-0591-4

A librarian can guide you to citation management software and resources to help you properly cite your sources.

Schaffer Library LibGuides

Women and Gender Studies

Contact A Librarian

Chat with a Librarian

Meet with a Librarian

Begin Your Search in Gender and Women's Studies

Reference and Encyclopedia Resources

Quick Citation Resources