Subject Research, Course Guides, Documentation: Sociology: Books and eBooks

Getting Started

from the Library home page:

Primo, our catalog, allows you to search across a large portion of the library's collections to explore topics, identify relevant databases, and evaluate the results, all within a single search experience. Results include books, journal articles, and more.
The Databases tab will help you to start looking for journal articles.
The Journals tab lists what journals and newspapers the library has access to. If you have found a citation and want to see if you can get to the full-text, use this tab to search for the journal title.(not the article title)

Circulating books related to psychology are primarily located in the following Library of Congress call number ranges:

HM: sociology

HN: Social History and Conditions; Social Problems; Social Reform

HG: The Family, Marriage, Women.

HT: Communities; Classes; Race.

HV: Social pathology; Social and Public Welfare.

Dissertations & Theses A&I This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day for a number of subject areas. Abstracts of Dissertations and theses from institutions in North America and Europe. Selectively covers masters theses and dissertations including dissertations from Canada, Great Britain, and Europe. 1861 to present; Abstracts since 1980; Thesis abstracts since 1988.

WorldCat

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world. You may also find article citations with links to their full text; authoritative research materials, such as documents and photos of local or historic significance; and digital versions of rare items that aren't available to the public.

Find Books Outside of Schaffer

While Schaffer Library has rich and diverse collections, there will be titles that are unavailable. If a title is unavailable because it is not in our collection or our copy is currently on loan to somebody else, you can submit an interlibrary loan request. Our interlibrary loan department will do their best to obtain a copy for your use.

It's easy to place a request. Sign into the library webpage. Type the name of the title you need in the Primo Search Box. Use the drop down menu to select the "Books in other libraries" option.

You will see a list of titles on the next screen. Find the title that you want and click on it. On the next page, you'll find the "How to get it" box in the middle of the page. Click on the "Request (ILLiad)" button. It will take you to the interlibrary loan page where the book information should have been automatically populated on the request form. Check to see if all required information is filled in. Submit the request and you will get an email when the material arrives in our library.

If you do not have an interlibrary loan account, you will be directed to the registration page. Complete this form and submit. Leave the interlibrary loan page and go back to the page with the "Request (ILLiad)" button, and click on that button again. Now that you have an interlibrary loan account, your request information will populate the request form. Don't forget to click submit.

Seminal Works

The Sociological Imagination by C. Wright Mills; Todd Gitlin (As told to)
ISBN: 9780195133738
Publication Date: 2000-04-13
C. Wright Mills is best remembered for his highly acclaimed work The Sociological Imagination, in which he set forth his views on how social science should be pursued. Hailed upon publication as a cogent and hard-hitting critique, The Sociological Imagination took issue with the ascendantschools of sociology in the United States, calling for a humanist sociology connecting the social, personal, and historical dimensions of our lives. The sociological imagination Mills calls for is a sociological vision, a way of looking at the world that can see links between the apparently privateproblems of the individual and important social issues.Leading sociologist Todd Gitlin brings this fortieth anniversary edition up to date with a lucid introduction in which he considers the ways social analysis has progressed since Mills first published his study in 1959. A classic in the field, this book still provides rich food for ourimagination.
The Social Construction of Reality by Peter L. Berger; Thomas Luckmann
ISBN: 9780385058988
Publication Date: 1967-07-11
Called the "fifth-most important sociological book of the 20th century" by the International Sociological Association, this groundbreaking study of knowledge introduces the concept of "social construction" into the social sciences for the first time. In it, Berger and Luckmann reformulate the task of the sociological subdicipline that, since Max Scheler, has been known as the sociology of knowledge.
The Souls of Black Folk by W. E. B. Du Bois; David W. Blight; Robert Gooding-Williams
ISBN: 9781319242589
Publication Date: 1997-02-15
One of the most influential and widely read texts in all of African American letters and history, The Souls of Black Folk combines some of the most enduring reflections on black identity, the meaning of emancipation,and Afican American culture. This new edition reprints the original 1903 edition of W.E.B. Du Bois's classic work with the fullest set of annotations of any version yet published, together with two related essays, and numerous letters Du Bois received and wrote concerning his widely read text. The introductory essay combines the sensibilities of a historian and a philosopher to capture the contours of Du Bois's life and writings along with the early-twentieth-century reception to the book. Photographs, a chronology, questions for consideration, a bibliography, and an index are also included.

Schaffer Library LibGuides

Sociology

Instruction Librarian

Open Access Journals

New Books Podcast

Getting Started

WorldCat

Find Books Outside of Schaffer

Seminal Works