Subject Research, Course Guides, Documentation: Nanomaterials and Nanotechnologies: Journals

Finding journals

Click on the search box to go directly to the Journals search page.

A screenshot of the Schaffer Library search box. This search box provides connections to library resources through Primo, databases, and journals.

Recommended journals

AAAS nanotechnology resources
A search for nanotechnology on the AAAS publications website.
Nature
Full-text from 1997 to present on Nature.com platform. Browse by categories - search in upper right hand corner. Includes citations from Nature and other affiliated publications like Scientific American and Nature Genetics. Check the Journals tab for full-text access to Scientific American.
Nature Nanotechnology
Nanomaterials and Nanotechnology
Open-access publication.

DOIs

What if I have a reference that looks like this?

Doshi, B.; Sillanpää, M.; Kalliola, S. A review of bio-based materials for oil spill treatment. Water Res. 2018, 135, 262– 277, DOI: 10.1016/j.watres.2018.02.034

The number highlighted is a DOI, or Digital Object Identifier. The DOI is a unique number that can bring you to directly to an article's citation and full-text when available.

To find this article:

1. Copy your DOI number. Example: 10.1016/j.watres.2018.02.034
2. Open a new browser tab.
3. Type: https://doi.org/[your DOI number]. Example: https://10.1016/j.watres.2018.02.034

Success!

Note: don't forget to connect from off-campus before looking for DOIs if you are not on Union's network!

Other Resources to Consider

APS Journals This link opens in a new window
A repository of a number of journals about the physical sciences, along with Physics Magazine. Includes access to 17 different journals with content dating back to 1893.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Provides numerous full text journals that cover a range of information in the fields of biomedical, physical sciences, social sciences, and economics.
arXiv This link opens in a new window
Electronic archive and distribution server for research articles. It provides open access to e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Economics, Natural Sciences, Statistics, Biology
Handbook of Chemistry & Physics Online This link opens in a new window
This is a digital book that covers virtually every element, every physical formula, and every mathematical table imaginable and puts physical formulas and mathematical tables used in labs every day within easy reach.
IOPscience This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scientific journals and books about the world of physics. Full-text is available and resources cover numerous topics from scientific, technical, or medical content.
Science Citation Index This link opens in a new window
A interdisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences. Contains cited references from 1997 to the present. Includes new cited references to patents per week.
AIP Publishing This link opens in a new window
Contains journals, books, conference proceedings, and the most recent issue of Physics Today. Topics primarily focus on the physical sciences.
Springer Link Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Large ebook collection from a leading publisher in the sciences. (Also See Springer Link Journals)
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Includes ISI Science Citation Index 1997-present; Social Sciences Citation Index, 1997-present; and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 1997-present. Search for specific articles by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. Search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.

While Web of Science is a citation database, when full-text content is available via a secondary resources supported by Schaffer Library, links to the full-text will appear.

Research at Schaffer Library